Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start your research with OneSearch
OneSearch is Tutt Library's single search across our library catalog and most of our article databases.
- After entering keywords you can use the limiters on the left side of the screen to refine your results by publication year, type of source, language, etc.
- You can limit to only books, videos, and similar items by selecting "Catalog Only"
- Records for individual articles will often have links to full text, and to tools that help you cite and save citations.
- OneSearch is a great place to start research, but you might find that subject-specific databases give additional results or more precise results.
Get started with the Library Catalog
Use the CC library catalog to find books, DVDs, and other things in our local collection, as well as links to online resources such as ebooks and streaming video.
If you are used to the old "Tiger" catalog, that was replaced with our new catalog in the summer of 2019. It should work similarly to Tiger, but better! Please ask at the Research Desk or Circulation Desk if you need help.
History Databases by Geographic Region
(stock photo Globe Staff Illustration)
Find secondary sources in databases
Tutt Library provides access to dozens of article databases for history research, many of which are quite specialized. The databases linked below are excellent starting points when looking for secondary sources--usually articles, but you will also find books and book chapters in your search results.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Subjects: African Studies
, Comparative Literature
, Race, Ethnicity, and Migration Studies