Citing Primary Sources
The following sites offer guides to citing primary sources in the Chicago style:
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Citation at a Glance: Primary Source from a Web Site (Diana Hacker)
Historical Journal Databases
- American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1740-1940.
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. May be cross-searched with ProQuest Historical Newspapers. - Early American Imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1639 - 1800.
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1639 to 1800. Not yet complete. - Early American Imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1801 - 1819.
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1801 to 1819. Not yet complete. - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1890 - 1982.
The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts.
Print Historical Journals
- Tutt Library Bound Historical JournalsThis is a complete list of the pre-1915 bound historical journals at Tutt Library. The journals, which are located on the second floor, are arranged alphabetically by title.
Tutt Library has print journals dating back to the mid-1800s with more 400 titles located on the second floor.
Check out the Tutt Library Bound Historical Journals link for a complete list of titles.