Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Freely available on the Internet
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Scanned books and journals including illustrations. Free for non-commercial use.
Gallica: Bibliothèque Numérique
Large collection of digitized texts, images, maps, sound recordings, and musical scores. Interface can be used in English; most items are French language but some English items are available.
Google Image Search
Use "Advanced Search" for finer control of results.
Public Domain Pictures
PublicDomainPictures.net is a repository for free public domain images.
Web Gallery of Art
The internet archive's search portal of images.
Tutt Library Databases
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus.
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press. Photos range from up-to-the-minute to historical. Also includes political cartoons. Can be used for educational purposes such as presentations and papers.
Encyclopedia of aesthetics
Comprehensive online reference source for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu