Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
We want to help!
No one is born knowing how to use a library for college research. All of us at Tutt Library are ready to help you with your research whether you are a first year student or a tenured professor.
Guides for CC courses in religion.
Illuminated, historiated letter "A" with John the Evangelist at the beginning of the Book of Revelation, Sweetheart Abbey Bible
Image from ARTstor
Get started with the library catalog
Use the CC library catalog to find books, DVDs, and other things in our local collection, as well as links to online resources such as ebooks and streaming video.
If you are used to the old "Tiger" catalog, that was replaced with our new catalog in the summer of 2019. It should work similarly to Tiger, but better! Please ask at the Research Desk or Circulation Desk if you need help.
Getting started in research for this discipline
The Encyclopedia of Religion is a good starting point for all kinds of topics in religion, providing background information, important keywords, and short bibliographies of key works. For research in Buddhism or Hinduism, the appropriate Oxford Bibliography Online will give you a more in-depth review of the literature in all aspects of those subjects.
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Get started finding articles
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
Coverage: 1949 - current. Contains more than a million citations from more than a thousand international titles and multi-author works in Religion. Spans over 50 years with selected records going back to 1818. Some full text.
ATLA is our most focused database for religion, with citations for articles, books, and book chapters. JSTOR is an online archive of journals in many different academic disciplines, including religion. For many more useful databases and search tips, see the "Find Articles" tab above.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu