Skip to main content

Federal Government Resources: @ Tutt

Help locating what Tutt Library houses along with selected internet resources.

Tutt Library Federal Documents

FDLP logo       Federal Depository Government Publications:

 - CC receives about 1/3 of materials from the Government Printing Office since 1880
 - organized according to the Superintendent of Documents classification system
 - located in Tutt Garden Level (paper including some maps), Creekside
(paper,
   microfiche, cd/dvds and maps), and the Map Room, 4th floor (maps)

 - over 85% cataloged in the CC Catalog
;
    Prospector also contains government documents you can request
 - use special indexes, catalogs, bibliographies and guides,
and online sources to access
   historic documents in the collection not yet cataloged

- government departments and agencies provide much of their information on the Internet

    

CC's Historical Collection

Colorado College, established as a Federal Depository Library and participated in that program since 1880, has a solid historical collection of government publications dating back to 1774. The collection of paper, microfiche, and maps is particularly strong in publications of the Congress, Smithsonian Institution, Census Bureau, Interior - particularly the USGS, Labor, State, some areas of Agriculture and Treasury and surveys of the west (Haycen, Powell, Wheeler, King and Pacific Railroad). 

  • Search the Catalog for detailed information on holdings and for call numbers.
  • Some items are not yet cataloged.  Use indexes and Prospector to determine call numbers; use those call numbers to check our stacks to see if we have the item in the library. 

Please ask at the reference desk for help in identifying and retrieving the documents you want.


Search the Catalog

Search CC catalog for maps and atlases owned and housed at Tutt Library.

There are lots of maps including

  • National Park Maps
  • trail maps from the Forest Service,
  • Bureau of Land Management campground maps,
  • Colorado 

Topo maps are shelved by quad name within the state in the 4th floor map room in cases along the walls.

See the Maps Guide for: maps at Tutt Library, some online maps and Map Tools

Key Catalogs

Related Guides

Help

Government Information Online: Ask a Librarian
   These Librarians, not at CC, are available to all for help with reserach.

El gobierno de los Estados Unido Informaciόn en español from CSU

Subject Guide

McKinley Sielaff's picture
McKinley Sielaff
Contact:
Tutt Library, Room 219
Colorado College
719-389-6186
Website

Shout Out

Image result for hathi trust logo

Build a comprehensive HathiTrust digital collection of federal documents distributed in print format by the Government Publishing Office as part of the Federal Depository Library Program.