Some individual awards exist,
but the majority of government grants are awarded to eligible nonprofit organizations.

The following are some sites and publications that are helpful in seeking government funding.

• Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
• Grants.gov
  - searchable databases of discretionary grant programs of 26 federal agencies

More Specific Grants

National Endowment for the Arts
  - apply, manage or see a list of recipients

National Endowment for the Humanities
 - apply, manage, get news or see projects

FEDIX (Federal Information Exchange)
 - customized grant announcements from 12 federal agencies

MOLIS
 - Minority On-Line Information Service

First-Gov for Nonprofits
   - Grants, loans, and other Assistance;
   - management and operations;
   -  Tax Information

National Science Foundation
- and the Funding page

Science.gov

• searches databases and selected websites from 14 federal agencies

Information Bridge 

• access to full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy research report literature
• most from 1991 forward, legacy documents are being added
• includes DOE Green Energy

Energy Citations Database

• covers the AEC from 1948 to 1974,
• the ERDA from 1974 to 1976
• DOE from 1977 to the present

See the Early American Libguide (below) for primary doucments at Tutt Library and online for:
   Democracy documents
   American Revolution
   The Constitution
   Foreign Relations and
      Military History
   and other doucments by topics

Justice Statistics Bureau

• crimes and victims, criminal offenders, the justice system and related special topics

NCJRS Abstracts Database

FBI Crime Statistics

Uniform Crime Reports - Nationwide statistics on crime from city, county, and state law enforcement agencies, some statistics are available back to 1995

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Stats

• data from many sources with national coverage