America's Historical Documents

• images from a collection of core American democracy documents (National Archives)

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation

• U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1873
• Congress, Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention
• includes: Farrands Records, Elliots Debates, Statutes and Documents, the Journals of Congress, and the Debates of Congress

Historical Publications of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

• Full-text versions of documents from the USCCR ranging from 1957 to the present

Statistics

• Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970, DOCS C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970 and Ref. HA202.H57 1989, vols.1 & 2) - Historical population and housing data for U.S., regions, states and counties, 1789-1970.
• Census of the United States, 1790-date, DOCS C 3.X:nos. Paper and microforms or U.S. Historical Census Data Browser 1790 to 1960
• Statistics of Railways in the United States (ITC 1 ste 1:), annual reports from 1902 - 1948.

Minorities

African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection - 1822 through 1909. Most were written by African-American authors

Reports of the Immigration Commission (J 21.2:)

• 41 volume report of a commission appointed by President Theodore Roosevelt that was published in 1911.
• Statistics and analysis of the impact of immigrants on such things as the U.S. job market, schools, etc.

Reports of the Womens Bureau (L 36.103:)

• Monthly reports from 1911 - 1958
• Themes include jobs, salaries, working conditions, etc. of women and child workers

National Woman's Party - digitized items

Survey of the Conditions of the Indians of the United States: Hearings before a Subcommittee of the Committee on Indian Affairs, United States Senate (microfilm)

• Transcripts of hearings held between 1929 and 1944
• Testimony concerning living conditions on all reservations in the country

Annual Report of the Commission to the Five Civilized Tribes 1895-1920 (microfilm)

• Annual report to congress by a commission that investigated conditions of Native Americans
• Microfilm Includes index of the 1895 - 1905 reports

Intellectual Property

Search for Patents online, USPTO 

Annual Report of the Commissioner of Patents, Docs I 23.1: & C 21.1:

Selected Documents in the Tutt Library Collecton:

Tutt Library has many early publications. In addition use Indexes to early American Documents and the catalog (not everything is cataloged) to help locate other items of interest.

See also Democracy Documents, and Congress & A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation for Contennial Congress and Constitutional Convention, bills and statues, American State Papers and the Serial Set, House and Senate Journals, and Congressional debates.

Colonial/Pre-Nation

• American Archives - Colonial papers and documents 1774-76 on colonial affairs and the American Revolution.
• Revolutionary Diplomatic Correspondence, 1775-1785 - Correspondence relating to foreign affairs and diplomacy during the American Revolution.
• Naval Documents of the American Revolution, DOCS D 207.12:vol. - Original documents and letters on naval operations from 1774-1777.

Early Governmental

• U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873 - Laws, House Journal, Senate Journal, Senate Executive Journal, Annals of Congress, Journal of Senator Maclay.
• Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789
• Papers of the Continental Congress, 1774-1779, located at the end of all the government microfilm, Creekside.
• Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789, LC 1.34:1-18 - Supplements the Journal of the Continental Congress.
• Secret Journals of the Acts and Proceedings of Congress from the first meeting thereof to the dissolution of the confederation, 1775-1788
• American State Papers, Executive and legislative documents of first 14 congresses, 1789-1823, by subject categories with Index in each vol.
• Annals of Congress/Congressional Record - A record of the debates and proceedings in the Congress, 1789-date.

Laws and Treaties - See also Treaties and Agreements tab in this guide and the Treaties tab in Federal Govenment Resources guide