Skip to main content

Early Government Documents

Publications from the Tutt Collection along with links to core documents.

Diplomatic History/Foreign Relations

Foreign Relations of the United States 1862- (S 1.1: )

  • Very comprehensive collections of official papers (laws, treaties, executive orders), statements (speeches, press conferences, press releases), along with declassified private memos and correspondence.
  • University of Wisconsin Digital Collection - 1860 - 1960.
  • U.S. State Dept. - 1960 to latest available

The Emerging Nation: a Documentary History of the Foreign Relations of the United States under the Articles of Confederation (AE 1.114/3:N 21)

  • Correspondence/papers of colonial leaders attempting to establish an international presence for the new nation. >

Documents on German Foreign Policy 1918 - 1945 (S 1.82: C/ vol. 1-13)

  • Official papers, correspondence of U.S. and European foreign affairs officials with Germany in the period between the World Wars.

Treaties and Agreements

 

 Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties compiled by Charles Kappler
 I 1.107:1-6

  • U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans, 1778-1883
  • treaties and other acts of Congress related to Indian policy
  • U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans, 1871-1970
  • Indian Affairs: Law and Treaties  (Oklahoma State University Library)

Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations, (University of Nebraska Libraries)

Ratified Indian Treaties (microfilm)

  • This collection also includes unratified and "unperfected" treaties as well.

League of Nations Treaties (microfilm)

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements 1776-1949 (S 9.12/2: )

  • Arranged by Country.

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements 1949 - present (S 9.12: )

  • Arranged chronologically.
  • For treaties 1776-1949, use the red volumes called the "Bevans". There is an index in the last volume.
  • For treaties 1950- use United States Treaty Index, 1776-1990. Locate these treaties in the blue set, United States Treaties and Other International Agreements.
  • For current treaties use Current Treaty Index. See also Treaties

Military History

See also:  American Revolution and Consititution 1763-1789  tab

Instances of Use of US Armed Forces Abroad, 1798-2007  PDF- reviews hundreds of instances in which the US has sent military forces abroad in situations of military conflict or potential conflict to protect U.S. citizens or promote U.S. interests; listed deployments vary in size and length, legal authorization and significance; in 11 separate cases listed in bold-face type the U.S. formally declared war against foreign nations; but for most the status of the action under domestic or international law hasn't been addressed; updated 1/14/08 {CRS report (45 page pdf)}

US Army Center of Military History - many online and digitized sourcs.


Naval Documents Related to the Quasi-War between the United States and France 1797 - 1801 (W 45.5: )

Naval Documents Related to the United States Wars with the Barabary Powere 1805-1807
(W 45.1: )


CIVIL WAR

Civil War Records: Basic Research Sources (NARA)

Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of Rebellion

  • see entry in the catalog for complete holdings. Letters, documents, reports regarding naval operations
  • part of Making of America collection of digital primary sources

War of Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies (Docs W 45.5: , Garden Level E 464.U6)

  • searchable version of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
  • Military records, reports, letters, orders on the Civil War arranged by campaign and theaters of operation Has index to individual names.
  • part of the Making of America collection of digital primary sources
  • also available from eHsitory's Primary Sources Section

Select World War I

  • Guide to World War I Materials - includes photos, essays, primary documents, films, and sound recordings related to World War I; news accounts of the war, including in The Stars and Stripes, a newspaper written by and for American soldiers at the war front; brief features about the U.S. entering the war (April 6, 1917), American forces' first offensive (September 12, 1918), and the Treaty of Versailles (June 28, 1919). (Library of Congress)

Select World War II

Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression : Office of the Chief Counsel for the Prosecution of Axis Criminality 1946 (W 1.2 : N 23)

  • Documents of the Nuremburg Trials.

Trials of War Criminals (D 102.8: )

  • Transcripts of testimony at some of the Nuremburg Trials

Vietnam War