Company and Industry Information
- Mergentonline This link opens in a new windowCompany and industry information. Download into Excel; for LARGE DATA SETS - please use on-campus with this link: http://www.mergentonline.com/compsearch.asp
For private company information, use Mergent Intellect. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
See Company section to get: SEC filings and company dossiers; create company lists and compare companies
- Top Market Report SeriesEach report ranks future export opportunities within a particular industry based on a sector-specific methodology
- Encyclopedia of American Industries, 2018detailed comprehensive information
- Corp WatchInvestigates and exposes corporate violations of human rights, environmental crimes, fraud and corruption around the world (Non-profit investigative research)
- Business source complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1886 - current. A comprehensive source of indexing and abstracts for over 3,000 periodicals, most full text. Also includes monographs, country economic reports, industry reports, company profiles, working papers, SWOT analyses and author profiles. Supplemented by Regional Business News and seminar videos. Coverage of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, international business, and more.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowU.S., Canadian and international company information plus census data and White Pages directory. This database can be used not only for business research but also as a job search tool. Incorporates Dun & Bradstreet Private Companies.
Consulting Firm Industry Focused Whitepapers
Whitepapers: Consulting firms' reports
called “whitepapers,” include articles, podcasts, and surveys
- deep knowledge about multiple industries, the challenges facing them, business best practices, and avenues for success
- the “state of'' the industry, competitive landscape, business dynamics, drivers and challenges, ROI, and future outlook
- contain best practices, business decision-making processes, trends, outlooks, insights, data,
- “visuals” - workflows, diagrams, survey results, etc.
- comprehensive, reflecting both internal expertise and the consulting firm’s primary research
- all resources are cited, and many whitepapers include a bibliography
- free
7 top global consulting firms: Deloitte, PWC, EY, KPMG, McKinsey, Bain, and Boston Consulting Group (BCG)
There are also niche firms focusing on one or a few industries. Ex.: Mercer, Oliver Wyman, and Huron
Google Search Strategy is the best way to locate
● healthcare “artificial intelligence” inurl:mckinsey
● food delivery (market OR industry) inurl:deloitte
A few search tips:
● Keep the searches simple, more high-level
● Only search one consulting firm at a time, rotating through each one by changing the inurl:[consulting firm] command
● Use Tools>Any Time to customize the publication date to ensure the more relevant
Susan M. Klopper. Consulting Firm Whitepapers: A Must for a Business Researcher’s Toolkit. Academic BRASS, Season Year, Vol. 18, No. 2