Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Federal Government Resources: Consumers-Citizens

Help locating what Tutt Library houses along with selected internet resources.

General

  

Consumer Guides
and Protection

 - A to Z list

CONSUMER.GOV – all types of information (money management, product safety, avoiding fraud, etc.)

Consumer Protection - practical information on a variety of consumer topics

Consumer Search - researchers review and rank top-rated products in 13 categories

Federal Citizen Information Center  - federal agencies, programs, and services

Green Book, 2008 edition
Committee on Ways and Means,.House of Representatives "program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics (Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support and families, insurance, poverty, taxation)

Business and Work

BUSINESS.GOV - guide to federal, state and local government websites: startup, advertising, law and licensing, financing, government contracting, import/export, etc.


TAXES - individuals and businesses

FORMS.GOV - federal tax, small business, social security, veterans benefits, etc.

Internal Revenue Service - Tax forms and Instructions for individuals and businesses.


FINANCE & WORK

ECONSUMER.GOV – consumer protection agencies from 21 countries and the OECD

Consumer-Finance Protection Bureau -  financial products and services (mortgage, credit cards, college, and other products)

Bankruptcy Basics - "information on different aspects of the federal bankruptcy laws", FAQs

MYMONEY.GOV – budgeting, taxes, credit, financial planning, saving and investing, fraud and scams

USAJOBS.GOV – searchable database for job vacancies within the federal government

Crime

Office of Victims of Crime - assistance to victims, training and techinical assistance, announcements, grant and funding opportunities etc.

Health

MEDLINEPlus - consumer health information

Nutrient Database - food composition databases to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data

Daily Med: Current Medication Information - information about marketed drug

Health Savings Accounts - publications "created by the Medicare bill signed by President Bush on December 8, 2003 and are designed to help individuals save for future qualified medical and retiree health expenses on a tax-free basis;" FAQ, a brochure (in English and Spanish), fact sheets, tax resources, and related publications. (Treasury Department)

Medical Information Bureau: Consumer file - a nationwide specialty consumer reporting agency under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act

Hospital Compare - information on how well the hospitals care for all their adult patients with certain conditions or procedures

DISABILITY.GOV -  programs, benefits, services and laws related to disabilities. Links to state and local resources. Nine major topics include employment, education, housing, transportation, health,  benefits, technology, community life and civil rights.

HEALTHFINDER.GOV – Tips and Tools to keep you healthy. Physician locators.

AirNow - index for reporting daily air quality - how clean or polluted the air is and associated health effects; calculates the AQI for five major air pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act: ground-level ozone, particle pollution (also known as particulate matter), carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, and nitrogen dioxide

Drinking Water Information - local information

Home

HOME & SAFETY

DoNotCall.GOVsign up
for the national registry,
to protect yourself from telemarketers.

SAFERPRODUCTS.GOV - reports of harm or risk
therein from consumer products.

Household Products Database - what's in products, health effects, safety and handling

WWW.READY.GOV – information for preparedness for natural disasters

Consumer Handbook on Adjustable Rate Mortgages - factsheet explains adjustable rate mortgages loans
for which "the interest rate changes periodically, usually in relation to an index, and payments may go up or down accordingly."
- Includes questions to consider, consumer cautions, reducing risk associated with ARMs, glossary, and a mortgage checklist for comparing different types of mortgages

National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators - unclaimed property database maintained by state governments

Travel

Air

Air Travel Prohibited Items
- Items - updated list (TSA)

  

Auto

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu