Various Government Databases
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations
USA.gov to browse by topics
- Bureau Of Justice Statistics
- Crime (offenders & victims), and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government; topics include victims, drugs, criminal offenders, justice system & courts, law enforcement, corrections etc.
- Census Bureau
- Census data (population, housing, economics, and government), data, tables, maps and reports
- Congress.gov
- Easy to search for legislation (2001-), the Congressional Record (2001-), current member and legislation
- Congressional Research Service Reports
- Brief (less than 50 pages), non-partisanship, in-depth analysis of public policy issues on topics under study by Congress
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
- Access to government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information
- Development Experience Clearinghouse DEXS
- Search USAID funded technical and program documentation
- ERIC Database
- Bibliographic records of journal articles and education-related materials
- Fed In Print
- Federal Reserve economic research, working papers and economic articles
- GAO Reports
- Reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of Federal programs conducted by the Government Accountability Office
- GovInfo
- single search interface for databases or browse titles including the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, United States Code, Economic Report of the President, and many other
- Grants.gov: Search Opportunities
- Search full-text; active or archived documents; or by funding opportunity, date, CFDA number, category, funding instrument type, eligibility, or agency to find federal funding opportunities
- Homeland Security Digital Library
- Collection of policy and strategy related documents (presidential directives as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies
- Library of Congress Digital Collections
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
- Summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources
- National Technical Information Service
- data science technologies
- Popular Names Of U.S. Government Reports
- Search by short titles that appear nowhere in the document
- US Patent And Trademark Office
- Existing patents and trademarks or file new ones; intellectual property and inventors
- USA Trade Online
- Official Source for merchandise trade data: current and cumulative export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities; trade statistics using the Harmonized System and NAICS commodity codes
Science & Heath Databases
Science.gov searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies
DOE Information Bridge access to over 200,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy research report literature, legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format
Environmental Protection Agency - search by topics, find laws and regulations
Science Inventory - a searchable, Agency-wide catalog of science activities such as research, technical assistance and assessments, along with peer-reviewed products
NASA - space exploration, scientific discovery and aeronautics research
PubMed - biomedical literature from MEDLINE Plus, life science journals, and online books
WorldWideScience.org - "A global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals." From the U.S. Department of Energy and the WorldWide Science Alliance.
Defense Databases
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
- database of significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals
- Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.
Homeland Security Digital Library
- scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports; Inspector General reports; Presidential directives, executive orders and reports; Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reports; theses and research reports from federal/defense schools; and reports from major federal commissions.
Research and Development Descriptive Summaries (RDDS)
- information on Research, Development, Test and Evaluation programs and Program Elements
- for the Department of Defense
Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI)
- database to articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and on so
- 1985 thru the present
Maps
National Atlas of the United States
- Interactive maps providing sections on elevation and terrain, exotic species maps, animated vegetation growth
- Map layers can be downloaded from the USGS free
- Maps have zoom function that allows users to examine over 2 million entries closely.
U.S. Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Resources
- Maps and services from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
- Look up places in the United States by name or zip code, then get a detailed map or census data.
See also Map Libguide