Skip to main content

Congressional and Legislative Tracking: Bill, Laws & Presidential Action

BILLS

When and who sponsored the bill in each chamber, the text of the House and Senate bills, and their numbers:

Congressional Universe
   Full text of bills and bill tracking is available from 1989 -
   Choose any of the bill databases.
   If full text is not available, use the Digest of Public General Bills and Resolutions in paper (see below) for a bill summary

GovInfo
  Choose one of the “Congressional Bills” databases, 1993-


Digest of Public General Bills and Resolutions, 1946-1990.
(DOCS, LC 14.6:)
  A concise summary for each session of Congress of provisions of public laws and other legislative measures with legislative history.
  Indexes for sponsors and cosponsors; short title; and subject.

 

 

PRESIDENTIAL ACTION and PUBLIC LAWS

Congressional Universe (CC and library use)
   Choose “Public Laws” or “Laws by Number”
   If you don’t find the public law, check the Histories or Bill Tracking database to track the fate of your bill.
   Search the Congressional Record for veto messages from the President.

CIS INDEX AND ABSTRACTS, 1970 – 1996 (DOCS INDEXl)
   See Legislative Histories for Public Law numbers.

GovInfo
    Use the “Public Laws” database.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1965-
(DOCS AE 2.109)
   Statements, messages, and press conferences of the President on many subjects, including legislation.
   Annual and quarterly index.

Congressional Record via Congressional Universe
   Official record of the floor debates and votes of Congress.
   Includes veto messages from the President.

U.S. Statutes at Large, 1789-  (DOCS AE )
   Full text of all laws enacted in each Congress.
   Arranged in numerical order by law number (P.L.#)

Major Legislation of the Congress, 1980-1992. (DOCS INDEX)
    Arranged by subject. Cites current and historical law on a topic.

Congressional Bills and Resolutions (Full Text)

Congressional Bills and Resolutions in Full Text use Thomas (LC)

Legislative Histories and Bill Tracking use Thomas (LC)