Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resources: Glossary

Quick fixes for when something isn't working; direct journal links; information on costs.

Glossary of electronic resource lingo

abstract: a short summary of an article or other work.  Helps researchers quickly determine if an article or other work is of interest.

aggregator: an electronic resource containing many electronic publications: journals and possibly trade publications, newspapers and magazines.  Aggregators tend to have fluid contents; that is, titles can drop in and out of aggregators very easily.  There is no guarantee of perptual access.

citation: publishing information on a particular article, book or other work, including title, author(s), year published, and the journal title (for articles).  Helps researchers and library workers locate a particular work.

database: general term for an electronic resource that allows searching and retrieval of information.

eBook: electronic book.

e-journal: electronic journal.

full text: an article, book chapter or other piece of text that is available for viewing, downloading and/or printing. The opposite of full text is citation or abstract.

indexing: when applied to databases, refers to organizing of citations and implies there is no full text.

link resolver: a system that traces links from abstract/index citations to full text, where available. Represented on the public side by

perpetual access: licensed content, usually full text e-journals, which the publisher guarantees perpetual access to. Many of our publishers who guarantee perpetual access deposit their journals in Portico.

Portico: a perpetual access repository, which Tutt Library participates in.

usage statistics: collected data about which databases and titles are used and how often, over a specific time frame. For example, the number of full text articles downloaded by an institution's users from JSTOR in a given year.

vendor: a company or organization that sells products to libraries and/or provides support for electronic publishing.  Example: Elsevier is the vendor that publishes ScienceDirect.