Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Afghanistan and the U.S. 1945-1963 (Archives Unbound-Gale)
Coverage: 1945-1963 This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats, including special reports, studies, statistics, legal documents, letters, translations of reports and articles from foreign newspapers and journals, speeches and transcripts. A wide range of subjects are covered including the politics, economics, and culture of Afghanistan. Part of Archives Unbound.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Coverage: 1968-1979. Collection of FBI files providing detailed information on the evolution of AIM (American Indian Movement) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Part of Archives Unbound.
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Coverage: 1920-1984. Collection of documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library. Includes COINTELPROs file on Black Nationalist groups from 1956-1971; also contains FBI files on notable figures such as Malcom X, Paul Robeson, Jesse Jackson and W. E. Dubois, as well as groups such as the Black Panthers and NAACP. Illustrative of conservative and government concerns over communism, socialism, civil rights, and other issues of this era. Part of Archives Unbound.
FBI Files Online
files released through the Freedom of Information Act. (content continues to be added) Includes information on historical events, political movements, as well as files on individuals and groups.
Foreign Relations Between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Coverage: 1930-1944. Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties. Documents are from the U.S. State Department. Part of Archives Unbound.
Policy Agendas Project
- to provide truly comparable measures of policy changes in the US since the WWII; systematic policy comparisons
ICPSR: International Consortium for Political and Social Research
Coverage: N/A. Provides large data sets (such as public opinion polls, attitude surveys, health information, results of research projects). Data may require use of specialized software like SPSS or SAS.
Fedstats: currently unavailable, see linked PDF for details.
- US government gateway to statistics from over 100 federal agencies.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
Coverage: 1600s - current. Annual time series of the U.S. population, economic indicators, social conditions, and government.
Roper Center for Public Opinion iPoll
Coverage: 1935 to present. U.S. and international poll data on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Replaces Gallup Brain subscription.
American Presidency Project
- covering 43 presidencies and public papers, executive orders, proclamations, addresses, and press conferences overall history and detailed information about each president; summary election data, public approval, and more; also audio and video archives
National Center for Policy Analysis
- to develop and promote private alternatives to government regulation and control, solving problems by relying on the strength of the competitive, entrepreneurial private sector
Public Agenda Online
- unbiased and unparalleled research that bridges the gap between American leaders and what the public really thinks about issues
- congressional information: coverage of bills, committee reports, and the Congressional Record, links to the House and Senate web pages for voting records, etc.
Government Printing Office
- federal documents and publications including: codes and regulations; Presidential Documents; laws; Congressional bills, documents, hearings, record, reports; Constitution with analysis and interpretation; Economic Indicators; Federal Register
National Security Archive
- collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through FoIA; and erves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the US.
- nonprofit public policy organization conducting independent research which can provide innovative, practical recommendations to 1. strengthen American democracy; 2. foster economic-social welfare for all Americans; and 3. secure a prosperous international system
- search U.S. federal and state government web sites. Include keywords such as "publications" or "reports" in searches or scroll down to links for Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branches
Project Vote Smart
information regarding state and federal candidates and elected officials - biographic, positions on issues, voting records, campaign finances and interest group ratings
Foreign Relations of the United States
- official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity
- Paper volumes
Tutt South Basement @ S 1.1:
- Volumes Online 1945+ - incomplete collection of volumes published
- Volumes, 1861-1960
- Department of State and USAID
- foreign assistance request and appropriations
- data since Fiscal Year 2006
- by country, by office, or by sector (e.g. health, security, education)
- charts and graphs, and customized tables
- treaties and treaty status
- begins with the 94th Congress
- older treaties are included if they were pending in 1975
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu