Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
What is this?
The United States is a federal constitutional republic, in which the President (both the head of state and government), Congress, and judiciary share powers reserved to the national government, and the federal government shares sovereignty with the state governments.
Republicanism, along with a form of classical liberalism remains the dominant ideology. Core tenets of this ideology:
- Civic duty (understand the government, participate in elections, pay taxes, and perform military service)
- Opposition to political corruption
- Democracy (government is answerable to citizenry)
- Equality before the law (laws should attach no special privilege to any citizen including officials)
- Freedom of religion (government neither supports nor suppresses religion)
- Freedom of speech (government cannot restrict through law or action personal, non-violent speech)
Central documents include:
- Declaration of Independence (1776)
- Constitution (1787)
- Federalist Papers (1788)
- Bill of Rights (1791)
- Lincoln's "Gettysburg Address" (1863)
See images of America's Historical Documents from a collection of such documents at the National Archives.
Best Bets for Databases
Political Science Complete
Coverage: 1887-current. Political science database with a global scope. Contains full text for some journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals.
Archival access for entire journals runs. Check boxes to search within "Political Science," "Law" and "Public Policy & Administration" journals only.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Full text of Johns Hopkins University Press journals. Check boxes to search within "Business" and "Economic" journals only.
Provides access to congressional and legislative information. Includes information about members of congress like voting records, addresses, etc.
Coverage: Nov. 1991 - current. This weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
America, History and Life
Coverage (articles published): 19th century to present.Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
CQ voting and elections collection: expert analysis, demographics, and data
Coverage: N/A. An elections database covering presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections, campaigns, political parties, voters and demographics. Includes historical and modern data, analyses of elections and voting behavior, explanations of electoral process and reforms, census and district demographics, key events and issues, and much more.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Coverage: 1802 - 1906. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature and Government Documents Indices (U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789; and US Congressional Serials Set, 178901939)
100 Milestone Documents of America
- documents of laws, court decisions, inaugural speeches, treaties, constitutional amendments, etc.
- that "have influenced the course of U.S. history; helped shape the national character, and reflect our diversity, unity, and commitment as a nation to continue our work toward forming “a more perfect union”
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
- Federal Government documents that define our democratic society
- committed to keeping our nation safe and expanding opportunity for every American; wealth and status should not be an entitlement to rule and that each of us has an obligation to each other
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu