Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
What is this?
International Relations (IR) examines relationships between countries.
- This includes: the roles of states, and both governmental and non-governmental organizations (IGOs, INGOs, NGOs and MNCs.
- It seeks to analyze as well as formulate the foreign policy of particular states.
Along with political science, IR draws on: economics, history, international law, philosophy, geography, social work, sociology, anthropology, psychology, women's studies/gender studies, and cultural studies
- links to primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated shedding light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within political, economic, social and cultural history.
- UN catalog, voting records, speech
Global Policy Forum
- Global Policy Forum is an independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nation and NGO networks
World Policy Institute
- non-partisan policy leadership for progressive and global perspectives for cooperative policy solutions to achieve an inclusive and sustainable global market economy, engaged global civic participation and effective governance, and collaborative approaches to national and global security
Political Resources on the Net
- sorted by country with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments, Media
World Treaty Index
database spanning the 20th century. Indexes and provides citations to sources for full texts of multilateral and bilateral treaties.
subject and chronological listings, and a searchable database of full-text international multilateral conventions and other instruments; most from 1945- with some older historical texts. Also links to other treaty sites
Best Bets for Databases
Political Science Complete
Coverage: 1887-current. Political science database with a global scope. Contains full text for some journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals.
Ciao: Columbia International Affairs Online
Coverage: varies. Journal articles and papers relating to International Affairs.
Coverage: 1915 - current. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
Coverage (articles published): 18th century - current. Covers world history (except for the United States and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage).
Coverage: 1967 - current. Books, journals, working papers, statistics, and glossaries published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. Search by country, theme, date, content type, etc.; with exportable data tables and graphs.
Tracking Development Finance
- AidData is a comprehensive resource for students and professors researching foreign aid and international development.
World Bank Data
- data from over 200 countries; economics, health, energy, debt, infrastructure, development, poverty, labor, and social issues.
United Nations Data
- data areas fo countries and topics: gender, health, human development, trade, tourism, information communications technology, energy, education, and crime.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
- data covering IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators; by topic as well as country
International Data Base (IDB)
- tabular data (downloadable) for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries (Census Bureau)
News from the European Union
- press releases, news briefs, speeches, and transcripts, from the International Monetary Fund
- news on activities and events, to give the general public a broad overview of Alliance-wide initiatives
OAS Latest News
- press releases, speeches, videos, weekly calendar, from the Organization of American States
- latest from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
- press releases and briefings
UN Global Pulse
development and scaled adoption of big data innovation for sustainable development and humanitarian action.
Coverage: 1906 - current. Indexes books, journal articles, conference proceedings about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world globally.
Foreign Relations Between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Coverage: 1930-1944. Organized by country, U.S. State Department foreign relations interaction on political, social, and economic issues between Central American, South American and some Caribbean countries; cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu