Environmental & Political Databases
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports from over 600 titles dealing with the interaction between humans and the environment.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of environment and related subjects, with both full-text and extensive abstract/indexing.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1887-current. Political science database with a global scope. Contains full text for some journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals.
Trial Database
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic includes multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Colorado College's subscription includes HeinOnline Academic Package, U.S. State Package -- Colorado, and Fastcase Premium.
Legal Sources
- Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to congressional and legislative information.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCovers legal issues of federal and state courts and law reviews.
- Congress.gov
Free access to Federal legislative information: bills, resolutions, Congressional Record, schedules, calendars, committee information, Presidential Nominations, treaties and government resources. Formerly known as THOMAS. Coverage: 1967 - current
- GovInfo
Provides free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Law reviews are secondary sources of scholarly journals used for conducting legal research.
- They provide thorough discussion & analysis of a particular legal issue,
- Footnotes provide citations for the primary sources of law (statutes, cases, etc.) related to the issue.
Nexis Uni - indexes law reviews
Law Review Commons - 300+ open-access law reviews · 220,000+ articles · Free current & archives from 1852
Summaries of Legislative Issues
Congressional Research Service - works exclusively for the U.S. Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation
Public Opinion & News
- iPoll This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1935 to present. U.S. and international poll data on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Replaces Gallup Brain subscription.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1969 - mostly current. Full text for major U.S., regional U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text transcripts from television and radio news.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1800's - Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times from 1881 and the New York Times from 1851. For current online articles use Access World News or Nexis Uni.
Help with Popular Names
Laws are often referred to by a more general name.
ex. Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required
to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism (USA PATRIOT ACT) Act of 2001
- U.S.C.. has popular Name Tables at the end of the general indexes
- federal acts are listed alphabetically by their short titles/common names with citations to the appropriate title and section of the Code
Shepard’s Acts and Cases by Popular Name
Reference, KF90.S52
- provides references to the common names of both federal and state statutes and cases
- very comprehensive - often lists several citations to a particular name
- Reference KF90.S52