Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historic Colorado Newspapers
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
Search over 90 historic Colorado newspapers from 49 cities and 36 counties throughout the state, published in English, German, Spanish, or Swedish. The database includes digital versions of newspapers found on microfilm at the Colorado Historical Society’s Stephen H. Hart Library that were published between 1859 and 1928. New material is usually added once a month. Some issues of the Colorado Springs Gazette are included.
All newspapers in the Colorado College library are in the catalog. Some are located in Creekside. For more information, see this page.
Coverage: 1800s Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1977 - mostly current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. (Not for walk-in use per license. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.) Formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic Universe, which was discontinued 1/1/2019.
Specific Colorado newspapers
Colorado Springs Gazette
Rocky Mountain News
Colorado Springs Independent
Colorado Springs Sun Paper
- Paper: from Feb. 1947 – Feb. 26, 1986 (Incomplete) [separate records for the Free Press (Feb. 1947 – Apr. 1967), Colorado Springs Sun (Oct. 21, 1977 – Feb. 26, 1986)]
- Microfilm: from Jan. 1, 1967 – Feb. 28, 1986 [separate records for the Free Press (Jan. 1, 1967 – April 14, 1970), Colorado Springs Sun (Apr. 15, 1970 – Feb. 28, 1986)]