Newspaper Databases with USA Coverage
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1977-current. Access to newspaper articles from around the country. Can limit to a particular state's newspapers. - Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - mostly current. Full text for major U.S., regional U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text transcripts from television and radio news.
Specific National Newspapers
Atlanta Constitution (Historical)
- Online: Coverage: 1868 – 1929. “The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as ‘the voice of the new south.’ Contains first hand accounts of the Reconstruction period and post-war South” to early twentieth century. Full image and full text newspaper articles. (LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe provides text coverage from 1991 – present.)
Chicago Tribune (Historical)
- Online: Coverage: 1849 – 1985. The Chicago Tribune is one of the nation’s oldest continuously published newspapers. Source for prohibition debates, mercantile development of the midwest, westward expansion, Settlement House Movement – Jane Addams, Al Capone. Full image and full text newspaper articles. (LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe provides current text coverage from March 1, 2002 – present.)
Los Angeles Times
- Online:
- Current (most recent six months): LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
- Historical (1881 – 1985): Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
- Website (current articles available for limited time; CC faculty, students, and staff should use options above for older articles (don’t pay for access on latimes.com!)): https://www.latimes.com/
New York Times
- Online:
- Current (1980 – ): LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
- Historical (1851 – three years ago): Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
- Website (current articles available for limited time; CC faculty, students, and staff should use the options above for older articles (don’t pay for access on nytimes.com!); free registration required): https://www.nytimes.com/
- In Tutt Library (1852 – ):
- Current issues kept until replaced by microfilm. See catalog record for details.
- Paper index (1851 – ) is located behind the newspapers on the second floor.
USA Today
- Online:
- Fulltext in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe (1989 – ) and Newspaper Source (Nov. 2002 – )
- Website: limited access to free content on USATODAY.com
Wall Street Journal
- Online:
- Fulltext of Eastern Edition The Wall Street Journal (1984 – current)
- Abstracts (summaries) for the Eastern Edition through LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
- Very limited free material on WSJ.com
- In Tutt Library (1981 – )
- Current issues of the Western Edition are kept in paper until replaced by microfiche of the Eastern Edition. See the catalog record for details.
- Paper index (1981 – ) is located behind the newspapers on the second floor.