Contact Information
PhySH
- Physics Subject HeadingsUse Physics Subject Headings (PhySH), to find controlled vocabulary terms to use in your searches.
Credo Reference: Science
Credo Reference helps you start your scientific research with dictionaries of specialized terminology, overviews of contemporary and historical scientific research, and biographies of prominent scientists.
Databases for Physics
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1900 - current. Peer-reviewed, scholarly, and empirical articles. Citation-based searching in all disciplines.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
- IOPscience This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1874 - current. Full text articles of over 70 journals from their inception, dealing with all areas of physics, pure and applied.
- Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1893 - most recent 3 years. PROLA is the Physical Review Online Archive, which includes the full-text of articles from Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and the Physical Review series from their inception up to the most recent 3 years.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowCoverage: early 1800s - current. Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Originally based on Mathematical Reviews (MR).
- Browzine: AstronomyA visual representation of astronomy journals in Tutt Library's collection.
- Browzine: PhysicsA visual representation of astronomy journals in Tutt Library's collection.
Other Physics Databases
- History of science, technology and medicine This link opens in a new windowAn international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
Refworks
RefWorks is a website where you can save the citations to books, articles, and other references you are using in your research. You can then use RefWorks to create bibliographies and even footnotes in the citation style you select. You can use APA, Chicago, MLA, or any of several hundred other styles used by journals, publishers, and other organizations.
RefWorks is a service that the CC library subscribes to, and CC librarians can teach you to use the site or answer your questions.
To use RefWorks, you need to go to the RefWorks website while on the CC campus and click the link to sign up for a free account.
In addition to getting help using RefWorks from CC librarians, you can use the RefWorks Support Resources web page, or try the RefWorks YouTube channel for instructional videos.