Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
We want to help!
No one is born knowing how to use a library for college research. All of us at Tutt Library are ready to help you with your research whether you are a first year student or a tenured professor.
Young Scholar in His Study: Melancholy
Oil on panel, 46 x 34 cm
Musée des Beaux-Arts, Lille
Get started with the library catalog
Use the CC library catalog to find books, DVDs, and other things in our local collection, as well as links to online resources such as ebooks and streaming video.
If you are used to the old "Tiger" catalog, that was replaced with our new catalog in the summer of 2019. It should work similarly to Tiger, but better! Please ask at the Research Desk or Circulation Desk if you need help.
Getting started in research for comparative literature
Search the Tiger catalog by "author" to find works by that author. Search the author's name as "subject" to find works about that author. In both cases, enter the name as last, first, such as "Melville, Herman".
MLA International Bibliography and JSTOR (below) are good places to start looking for criticism.
Get started with literary theory
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
This online book / encyclopedia provides background readings and extensive bibliographies covering major theorists, critical approaches, and ideas in literary theory and criticism. A good place to start before digging in to the actual critical texts.
Get started finding articles
The MLA International Bibliography is the most extensive database we have for finding articles (and book chapters, and books) about literature. It doesn't have a lot of full-text articles, so don't forget to click the "TuttLink" find full-text icon to see how to get the article you want.
JSTOR is easy to search and has almost entirely full-text articles, but searches a limited number of journals.
For more appropriate databases and ideas for effective searching, see the "Find Articles" tab, above.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
General Reference Resources
This link goes to a collection of more general online reference sources, which are not necessarily related to languages and litereature.
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu