Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Digitized Primary Sources - Colorado
Digitized Primary Sources - Library of Congress
Digitized Primary Sources - General
Primary Sources Lists and Portals
Gale Primary Sources
Discover documents from over 500 years of world history [curated].
Avalon Project:Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Documents are organized by Ancient, Medieval, and 15th-21st centuries. From Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library.
Epistolæ: Medieval Women's Letters
Collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century, translated from Latin into English. From Prof. Joan Ferrante and The Columbia Center for New Media Teaching and Learning.
Links to European primary historical documents. From Brigham Young University's Harold B. Lee Library.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
Digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses. From Hanover College's History Department.
Internet History Sourcebook
Substantial collection of translated primary sources, organized by topics and eras. From the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
Medieval History Texts in Translation
Translations of texts for study and teaching. From the Medieval Studies research group at the University of Leeds.
Perseus Digital Library
Large collection of texts with some translations. From the Classics Department at Tufts University.
Archival, Museum, and Library Holdings
Worldwide holdings of libraries; Local and Colorado libraries shown first
A subject-searchable directory of archival holdings, primarily in the US
TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online)
A subject-searchable directory of Texas archival holdings
From the American Alliance of Museums; searchable by type (i.e., natural history), name, or location
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
, Film and Media
A Note on Search Terms
Databases and catalogs can often use language that is offensive or outdated. Remember to try searching a variety of keywords-- even if it's not a term you prefer or would use yourself.
In the news: Library of Congress Drops Illegal Alien Subject Heading, Provokes Backlash Legislation
Prejudices and Antipathies
Call Number: Garden Level -- Z695.1.S6 B47 1993
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Cruising the Library : Perversities in the Organization of Knowledge
Call Number: New Arrivals -- Z695 .A25 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-03
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu