Newspapers
Tutt Library subscribes to newspapers in print, microform, and online editions. Print and microform newspapers are held on the 2nd floor of the library. Online subscriptions are available on campus, or off-campus to current CC staff.
Specific Colorado newspapers
Colorado Springs Gazette
- For an online index to local news stories and obituaries, use the Pikes Peak Newsfinder from the Pikes Peak Library District. They will provide full-text scans within a week, free.
- For electronic access to articles from 1988 to the present, use the Access World News database.
- Paper: current three months (view catalog record)
- Microfilm: from 1878 – present [separate records for the Daily Gazette (1878 – 1887), Colorado Springs Gazette (1878 – 1946), Gazette-Telegraph (1946 – 1997), and Gazette (1997 – present)].
Denver Post
- Full-text back to 1989 in Access World News
- Access to the latest two weeks of articles can be found on the Denver Post website
- Paper: current three months (view catalog record)
- Microfilm: from 1965 – 2012 (view catalog record) Please consult Pikes Peak Library District for access to the fully digitized Denver Post.
Rocky Mountain News
- Full-text online: 1990 - 2009 in Access World News
- Full-text online: 1873-1898 in Nineteenth Century US Newspapers
- Microfilm: April 1859 – November 1905; January 1906 – December 1944; 1947 – 1964 (view catalog record)
Colorado Springs Independent
- Online at the CSIndy website
- The Independent has searchable, full-text online archives
- Paper: Special Collections has paper issues starting with v. 1 (1993 – ) (viewcatalog record)
Colorado Springs Sun Paper
- Paper: from Feb. 1947 – Feb. 26, 1986 (Incomplete) [separate records for the Free Press (Feb. 1947 – Apr. 1967), Colorado Springs Sun (Oct. 21, 1977 – Feb. 26, 1986)]
- Microfilm: from Jan. 1, 1967 – Feb. 28, 1986 [separate records for the Free Press (Jan. 1, 1967 – April 14, 1970), Colorado Springs Sun (Apr. 15, 1970 – Feb. 28, 1986)]
Current Newspapers
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1977 - mostly current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. (Not for walk-in use per license. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.) Formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic Universe, which was discontinued 1/1/2019. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - mostly current. Full text for major U.S., regional U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text transcripts from television and radio news.
Historical Newspapers
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 270 African American Newspapers from 35+ states. Covers topics such as life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment. Based on James P. Danky's bibliography "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals." - Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1808-1980. Spanish and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers published in the United States from the 19th to 20th centuries. Great source of historical information and culture; also a source of reporting on events in Spanish-speaking countries that were not necessarily covered in English-language newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers. - Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1800's. Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1800's - Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times from 1881 and the New York Times from 1851. For current online articles use Access World News or Nexis Uni.