Argentina
Australia
Austria
Belgium
Brazil
Canada
China
Costa Rica
Czech Republic
Denmark
Finland
France
Germany
Great Britain/UK
Hong Kong
Guatemala
Ireland
India
Israel
Italy
Japan
Kenya
Note about this information
Some information sources are older and may be out of date on particular subjects. If you are planning on traveling or working in a different country, please consult multiple sources and be on the lookout for more current information. However, if you have time to read up on the history of your destination country, your hosts will likely be impressed by your efforts.
Going Global
Going Global covers a selection of countries and includes culture guides with info on subjects such as local customs, greetings, language, business culture, and how women are treated. Look for the Cultural Advice section at the bottom of each Country Guide.
- GoinGlobal This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. Covers over 20 countries worldwide. Describes working environment, resume requirements, employment trends, cost of living, cultural factors, and much more.
Books - General Guides
Countries and their cultures / Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, editors.
Reference GN 307.C68 2001 v. 1-4 See also online version
Encyclopedia of food and culture / Solomon H. Katz, editor in chief ; William Woys Weaver, associate editor
Reference GT 2850.E53 2003 v. 1-3 See also online version
E-books
Countries and Their Cultures / Carol R. Ember and Melvin Ember, ed. 2001
See also print version in Reference, GN 307.C68 2001
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture / Solomon H. Katz, ed. 2003
See also print version in Reference, GT 2850.E53 2003
Encyclopedia of World Cultures 1996
Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Supplement / Carol R. Ember, Melvin Ember, and Ian Skoggard, ed. 2002
Streaming Videos
Films on Demand, a database of educational and documentary streaming videos, has some material related to specific cultures. Search for your area of interest or browse the Anthropology: Cultural Anthropology section.
Africa
AfricaAsia
Europe
Latin America and the Caribbean
Middle East
Mexico
Nepal
Nicaragua
Netherlands
Russia
Scotland
South Africa
South Korea
Spain
Sri Lanka
Taiwan
Thailand
Wales
Credits
Based on the original guide by Krystyna Mrozek.
Most flag clipart is public domain from www.openclipart.org, or created by Diane Westerfield. Hong Kong and Welsh flags by erjkprunczyk at Flickr.