Subject Guide
Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Databases for Geology
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1785 - current. A comprehensive geoscience database covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
- Browzine: View Individual Geology Journal TitlesBrowzine allows users to easily discover individual academic journal titles in our electronic collection.
- National Science Foundation Public Access RepositoryNSF-supported publications and other research products are openly available to the public.
Other Geology Databases
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1982 - current. This resource covers 'all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.'
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of environment and related subjects, with both full-text and extensive abstract/indexing.
- History of science, technology and medicine This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1907 - current. SciFinder Web retrieves information contained in databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and Medline. It contains journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more, covering a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering.
Registering for the first time? Click here.
Having trouble? Please use VMWare Horizon and log into one of the campus terminals.
NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer. - Springer Nature Link Journals This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. A full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,000 books online.
- Wiley Online Library journals This link opens in a new windowElectronic journals with an emphasis on science-related fields. Please note: CC does not have access to everything in Wiley. We have a selective journal package through the Colorado Alliance with mostly front-file coverage, with access typically starting in 1997.
Refworks
RefWorks is a website where you can save the citations to books, articles, and other references you are using in your research. You can then use RefWorks to create bibliographies and even footnotes in the citation style you select. You can use APA, Chicago, MLA, or any of several hundred other styles used by journals, publishers, and other organizations.
RefWorks is a service that the CC library subscribes to, and CC librarians can teach you to use the site or answer your questions.
To use RefWorks, you need to go to the RefWorks website while on the CC campus and click the link to sign up for a free account.
In addition to getting help using RefWorks from CC librarians, you can use the RefWorks Support Resources web page, or try the RefWorks YouTube channel for instructional videos.