Best Bets for Databases: Political Focus
-
Ciao: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window- Coverage: varies.
- Journal articles and papers relating to International Affairs. -
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window- Coverage (articles published): 18th century - current.
- Covers world history (NOT US and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage). -
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window- Coverage: 1887-current.
- global scope
- full text of journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals.
Best Bets for Databases: Religious Focus
-
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window- Coverage: 1906 - current.
- Indexes books, journal articles, conference proceedings
- about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world; including other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
-
Encyclopaedia of IslamOffers basic searching of the full-text of nearly 12,000 pages of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the print edition.
-
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window- Coverage: 1949 - current, some records back to 1818
- million+ citations from thousands of international titles and multi-author works in Religion.
- Some full text.
More Options
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window- Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years.
- scholarly periodicals - many not available for the last current 3-5 years -
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new window- Coverage: varies; Offers current and back issues
- selection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University -
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window- Coverage: 1865 - current.
- Subject coverage of journals is general and broad. -
African Women Bibliographic Database This link opens in a new window- Coverage: 1986 - current.
- Indexes English language materials: books and government documents; articles in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; videocassettes.
- Some full text. -
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window- Coverage: 1971 - current.
- Western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. -
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window- Coverage: varies.
- cultural database includes full text of books, chapters, journal articles.
