Tutt Library Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus or through EZProxy. - AP Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press. Photos range from up-to-the-minute to historical. Also includes political cartoons. Can be used for educational purposes such as presentations and papers. - International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 2008-current. Bibliographic database of international scholarly literature on western art. Subjects include fine arts in all media, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Find Images: Books in Tutt Library
Tutt Library has a good collection of art books located in the Art Reading Room on the 2nd floor, near Special Collections. Books in this area have a call number starting with N. Books falling under the subjects of archaeology, photography, technology, etc. may be located elsewhere - be sure to check the library catalog for call number and location.
Books can be scanned on any printer/copy machine that has a flatbed scanner, or you can try taking a photo with a digital camera or smartphone.
Selected Digital Images Archives for Anthropology & Archaeology
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest CollectionFrom the University of Washington's Digital Collections, "an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics."
- Northern AZ University Colorado Plateau Digital ArchivesThe Digital Collections of the Cline Library at Northern Arizona University. Collection strengths include images and information about the Colorado Plateau and Native American History of the Four Corners area.
Freely available on the Internet
- BotanicusScanned books and journals including illustrations. Free for non-commercial use.
- Google Image SearchUse "Advanced Search" for finer control of results.
- Web Gallery of ArtThe internet archive's search portal of images.
Online Portals & Resources
- American Library Association Digital Images Collections GuideThe ALA's collection of stable, legal and reliable image sites.
- Christ Whitcomb's Art History PagesMore of a laundry list than an analyzed portal. Interesting stuff.
- The Mother of All Art and Art History Pages--U of MichiganA private art portal run though the U of M's auspices. Updated and large, including material culture and not simply art.
- Reanimation LibraryThe Reanimation Library is a small, independent presence library open to the public. It is a collection of books that have fallen out of mainstream circulation and been acquired for their visual content.
Videos in the Library's Collection
Tutt Library has a collection of DVDs held behind the Circulation Desk, as well as VHS tapes in storage (as of August 2020).
To find DVDs in the library catalog:
Go to Advanced Search, Click on the Collection tab, and select DVDs. Then enter your keywords and click Search.
Search of DVDs with keyword anthropology.
Please note, we may have streaming video versions of some DVDs. Ask a librarian for assistance.
Streaming Videos
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries and educational films viewable as a whole or by segment. Register for a person account to build playlists and set preferences. Please use links from the catalog or from Share permalink within the database.
- AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window70,000+ documentaries and other films from Alexander Street Press, a subsidiary of ProQuest.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowStreaming documentaries and foreign language films including many titles from Bullfrog and Icarus.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service. Includes foreign, independent and classic films, documentaries and dramas. Many subject areas are covered.
