Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Combining the words ecology and feminism, ecofeminism embraces the idea that the oppression of women and the oppression or destruction of nature are closely connected. Elements of the feminist movement, the peace movement and the environmentalist and green movements can be seen in ecofeminism.
Find Articles -- Databases for Ecofeminism Research
Broad coverage of environment and related subjects, with both full-text and extensive abstract/indexing.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports from over 600 titles dealing with the interaction between humans and the environment.
Gender Studies Database
Coverage: pre-1972 - current. Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
Using the correct words to search will help you find relevant information. Use your research questions to help you create a list of key words to use in your searches for information.
Because different authors and search tools use different words to describe the same concepts, it's useful to have a list of similar and related terms in your arsenal when you set out to search for relevant information. The process of creating these alternative terms is called brainstorming terms or concept mapping. The University of Illinois Undergraduate Library illustrates this process well in their brief video called, Developing Your Topic with a Concept Map.
Keywords for Researching:
- Women in the Environment
- Women and Food Security
- Women Environmentalists
- Green Movement
- Environmental Protection
- Nature Conservation
Ecofeminist Websites and Organizations
Society of Women Environmental Professionals Rocky Mountain Chapter
The Society of Women Environmental Professionals (SWEP) is a national non-profit professional association of women involved or interested in environmental law, science, education, business, and policy. The Rocky Mountain Chapter serves as a resource for members in the Rocky Mountain region, providing opportunities for professional development through, networking, mentoring, and public service.
Center for Health, Environment & Justice
The Center for Health, Environment & Justice helps build healthy communities nationwide. Since its founding in 1981, CHEJ has grown into the nation’s leading resource for grassroots environmental activism, a ground-breaking, progressive organization with a vision for clean, green neighborhoods built from hard-won experience fighting for environmental justice.
Women's Environment & Development Organization
A global women’s advocacy organization for a just world that promotes and protects human rights, gender equality, and the integrity of the environment.
Women's Voices for the Earth
Women’s Voices for the Earth is a national organization that works to eliminate toxic chemicals that impact women’s health by changing consumer behaviors, corporate practices and government policies.
Additional Online Resources
Ecofeminist Vision Emerging EVE
Welcome to EVE ONLINE, a Web site devoted to ecofeminism. If you're new to ecofeminism, you'll find the entire site a good introduction to the subject. If you're familiar to ecofeminism, you're encouraged to contribute information.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu