CC timeline: https://www.coloradocollege.edu/basics/welcome/diversity/timeline/

CC demographics: 2011-ongoing Office of Institutional Planning and Effectiveness; 2001-2011 Common Data Set; 1996-2001 Statistical Profile; 1992-2002 Office of Minority Student Life resource directories; pre-1992 no data collected

J. Juan Reid, Colorado College: The First Century (in Tutt Library; search inside in Google Books)

Robert D. Loevy, Colorado College: A Place of Learning (in Tutt Library; search inside in Google Books) 

NEW IN 2024: YOU CAN NOW SEARCH ACROSS ALL CC STUDENT PUBLICATIONS AT ONCE in digitalCC.

Alternatives to digitalCC: 

CC Newspapers Internet Archive gateway (multiple titles, 1880-2004). Search inside one volume at a time. 
A few newspapers are inexplicably hidden at the gateway, so use direct links: 1969-70 | 1970-71 | 1971-72 | 1972-73 | 1973-74

Catalyst Archives (2015-present, including podcasts)

CC yearbooks in the Internet Archive (1900-2007)

Available in Special Collections (open weekdays 9-12 and 1-5). 

Archives Box 842. 2 boxes of programs, clippings, press releases, scorebooks, game summaries, etc., 1970-2009. 

PP 97-871. 3 boxes of photographs, 1970s-2008, approximately 3000 photos.

• Colorado College – Hate crimes, hate speech (homophobia, sexism, anti-Semitism, free speech) 
• Colorado College – Racism
• Diversity (Diversity Council, Diversity Task Force, Affirmative Action, Equal Opportunity Employer, student/faculty recruitment, Minority Concerns Committee)
• Diversity – Butler Center (est. 2014)
• Diversity and Equity Advisory Board (DEAB) (est. 2015)
• Students – African-American
• Students – Asian American
• Students – Demographics 
• Students – Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender (LGBTQ, EQUAL Empowered Queers United for Absolute Liberation, QSA Queer Straight Alliance, Bathroom Swap)
• Students – Japanese (1890s)
• Students - Jewish
• Students - Latinx (Latina, Latino, Hispanic, Chicana, Chicano)
• Students – Native American
• Students – Organizations – Asian American Student Union (AASU)
• Students - Organizations - Black Student Union
• Students – Organizations – Korean American Student Association (KASA)
• Students – Organizations – Minority Association of Pre-Health Students (MAPS)
• Students – Organizations – Multicultural Organization of Students and the International Community (MOSAIC)
• Students – Organizations – Native American Student Association (NASA) (changed to Native American Student Union, NASU)
• Students – Organizations – SOMOS (MEChA)

Full list of all subjects: https://libraryweb.coloradocollege.edu/library/specialcollections/ColoradoCollege/InfoFile.html

• Box 456 Students - Latino/a 1971-1999 Latina, Latino, Chicano, Hispanic students; MEChA (Movimento Estudiatil Chican de Aztlan), publications La Chispa, Mirasol

• Box 571 Students - African-American 1900-2015 Black Literary Magazine publication; Black Student Union; Black Awareness Week; clippings; correspondence

• Box 574 Students - Native American 1973-2002 American Indian Movement (AIM) at CC; Summer School TRIBES; David Friend corr.; Council of Energy Resource Tribes (CERT) Summer Institute; Energy Simulation; Tribal Proposal; Tiger Tribe; Tiger Labor Org; Indian Education; Hughes Bridge Program

• Box 684 Diversity 1874-2010 arranged by date: Minority Concerns Committee; newsletters; Office of Minority Student Life; Gormon; publication Fight the Power; ACM Minority Task Force, Minority Scholars; national programs (CEEB, Ford)

Subject list for archives located in Special Collections: https://libraryweb.coloradocollege.edu/library/specialcollections/ColoradoCollege/Archives.html

Searchable database of archives located at Creekside: https://ccarchives.coalliance.org/repositories/2

Searchable archived versions of the CC website: https://archive-it.org/home/coloradocollege

[Please note: the descriptions below are from the original interviews and contain outdated language.]

Dolores S. Atencio, CC class of 1977, graduated from Colorado College with a degree in Political Science. She attended the University of Denver College of Law, and was admitted to the Colorado Bar in October, 1981. A native of Pueblo, Colorado, Ms. Atencio discusses her strong Chicano heritage and her perspectives as a minority student at Colorado College. She actively participated in MECHA (Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano Aztlan), the Chicano student organization on the campus. In 1979, she, along with her former husband, Randy Serna (CC class of 1974) founded the Colorado College Chicano Alumni Association.

Mike Edmonds, Dean of Students at Colorado College 1991-2005, Vice President of Student Life / Dean of Students 2005-ongoing. He was interviewed for the LGBT Oral History project on December 12 2011.

Effie Evelyn Stroud Frazier, CC class of 1931, interviewed 1980. Effie Stroud Frazier, (CC class of 1931) was one of the first African-American women to attend Colorado College and one of seven members of the well-known Stroud family to attend Colorado College. She was the first recipient of the Sachs scholarship. In her interview, Effie Frazier discusses race relations in Colorado Springs during the Depression and her experiences as a minority student at Colorado College.

Raymond Dean Jones, CC class of 1967, interviewed 1980. Raymond D. Jones (CC class of 1967) was born in Pueblo, Colorado on November 30, 1945. While at Colorado College, Jones was the first African-American president of the Beta Theta Pi fraternity. After graduating from Colorado College, he received his law degree from Harvard University in 1971. At the time of this interview he was a judge in the Denver District Court, appointed by Governor Richard Lamm. Jones's interview focuses on campus life in the 1960s, attitudes about civil rights in Colorado Springs, and experiences from the perspective of a minority student.

Untold Stories  
"Stories of marginalized persons who make up our Colorado College community and our history."  Formerly known as People's History at Colorado College. This project has had several homes, including the History Department, the Butler Center, and (currently) Communications.

Colorado Springs Black History materials at CC Special Collections 
From CC Special Collections. Digitized Black newspapers, a map showing 19th century Black residences, and more.

Pikes Peak Newsfinder 
From the Pikes Peak Library District. Free online index to the Colorado Springs Gazette. Many articles are available immediately as full-text; others you will have to request and wait a few days.

Looking for intersections of race and racism with gender and sexuality? Try searching terms like "women" or "gay" in the various indexes and catalogs above, plus:

Colorado College LGBTQ+ Oral History Project (2020-ongoing, audio and transcriptions)

Colorado College LGBT Oral History Project (2011-2012, audio and some transcriptions)

Digitized issues of The Monthly Rag, CC's Feminist and Gender Studies newsletter 2009-2018, in DigitalCC

Archives boxes 555 A-B, Title IX 1972-2003 (paper only)
Title IX regulations, proposals, actions; gender equity in athletics report 1994, revisit 1998; sexual misconduct task force 2003 including focus group responses, templates from other schools

Archives boxes 564 A-C, Women's Concerns Committee 1980-2014 (paper only)
Agendas, minutes, annual reports, Hiring / Recruitment / Retention (faculty, administrators, staff, women in the sciences), mentors, sexual harassment policy, maternity leave, Children's Center, Women's Studies, Feminist Collective, safety on campus, programs and events, anti-discrimination policy, proposed committee on CC fraternities; proposed Sexual Abuse Survivors support group, Diversity Task Force, transcriptions of interviews with CC women (Latina / Asian-American / African-American / Native American / lesbian), gender equity in athletics, Title IX, working mothers, proposed Director of Sexual Health Education / Sexual Assault Response. after January 2014, see Diversity and Equity Advisory Board (DEAB)

Archives box 569, Students - Gay, Lesbian, Transgender 1969-2010 (paper only)
LGBTQ+ issues, student organizations EQUAL, GALA, QSA, Gay Liberation Front, Amendment 2, 1972 symposium "Same Sex Lifestyles," 1993 interviews with lesbian alumnae

When you cite archival sources (diaries, letters, memos, unpublished manuscripts, etc.), you should include these elements:

• description of the item, including, when known, author and date
• collection name and call number (when applicable)
• name of the institution holding the item
• URL if a transcription or digital version of the item is available online

Different style guides require you to present these elements in different ways, and some style guides don't discuss archival sources at all. For more information, see Purdue University’s https://guides.lib.purdue.edu/c.php?g=352889&p=2378064. When in doubt, speak to your professor.

Examples in Modern Language Association (MLA) style

Note: if you are citing the CC yearbook or a student newspaper, cite just as you would for any book or periodical.

Citations should follow this formula:
Last name of author, first name of author. Title or identifying information for item. Date. Collection name and call number. Name of institution holding item. [URL if one exists]

Item in an information file:
Memorandum from the President's Office to the Minority Education Committee. 2 February 1982. Information File "Students - Organizations - Native American Student Association." Colorado College Special Collections.

Item in an Archives box:
Fitzgibbon, Millicent. “Students Protest Campus Changes,” clipping from unknown newspaper. Undated (ca. 1920?). Archives Box 47, Folder labeled “Miscellaneous.” Colorado College Special Collections.

Item in a manuscript collection:
Albright, Guy Harry. Letter to Paul Peck. 23 October 1917. Albright Papers, Ms 0389, Box 1, Folder 3. Colorado College Special Collections. Transcription: libraryweb.coloradocollege.edu/library/specialcollections/Manuscript/albrightletter.pdf

HOURS: weekdays 9-12 and 1-5
Garden Level (basement) of Tutt Library