Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
We want to help!
No one is born knowing how to use a library for college research. All of us at Tutt Library are ready to help you with your research whether you are a first year student or a tenured professor.
Young Scholar in His Study: Melancholy
Oil on panel, 46 x 34 cm
Musée des Beaux-Arts, Lille
Get started with the library catalog
Use the CC library catalog to find books, DVDs, and other things in our local collection, as well as links to online resources such as ebooks and streaming video.
If you are used to the old "Tiger" catalog, that was replaced with our new catalog in the summer of 2019. It should work similarly to Tiger, but better! Please ask at the Research Desk or Circulation Desk if you need help.
Getting started in research for art and art history
Much of the time, an art history research project will start with an artist or artwork or genre already in mind. In that case, you need to start finding context for your subject. Before diving into journal articles, consider using the Oxford Art Online Encyclopedia (below) to place your subject in time, space, among other artists, and so on.
Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive online reference source for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art.
Get started finding articles
Art & Architecture Complete
Coverage: 1980 - current. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images.
The databases below are great places to start looking for art history and criticism, book reviews, gallery reviews, and interviews with artists. Use the "Find Articles" section of this guide for many more suggestions of where and how to search.
JSTOR is an online journal archive covering many academic disciplines. Use specific keywords to avoid getting many false hits.
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu