Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
The Fair Use clause of Copyright law allows you to use any photos or images you find as long as they are for educational purposes only and not for commercial gain. However, with any website or database, it's a good idea to look for a Creative Commons license checkbox so that you are sure you are welcome to use images you find.
Because images you find on databases or the Internet are the intellectual property of other individuals, you must cite your sources when you use images in your scholarly works, whether it be in a paper, a presentation, or art work you create.
Check whichever style guide you are using for proper citation format.
The citation should be accessible in the context of the image's use (within a Powerpoint presentation, on a web page, in a paper, etc.).
Image citations should include the following information:
- Creator name
- Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
- Image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.)
- Date accessed
Sometimes not all of these pieces can be found, so you may only cite what you know, but you must make a good faith effort.
Tutt Library Image Databases
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press. Photos range from up-to-the-minute to historical.
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus.
Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive online reference source for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu