Historic Colorado Newspapers
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
Search over 90 historic Colorado newspapers from 49 cities and 36 counties throughout the state, published in English, German, Spanish, or Swedish. The database includes digital versions of newspapers found on microfilm at the Colorado Historical Society’s Stephen H. Hart Library that were published between 1859 and 1928. New material is usually added once a month. Some issues of the Colorado Springs Gazette are included.
Colorado newspapers at Tutt Library
All newspapers in the Colorado College library are in the catalog. Some are located in Creekside. For more information, see this page.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Coverage: 1800s Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Newspaper databases
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1977 - mostly current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. (Not for walk-in use per license. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.) Formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic Universe, which was discontinued 1/1/2019.
Specific Colorado newspapers
Colorado Springs Gazette
- For an online index to local news stories and obituaries, use the Pikes Peak Newsfinder from the Pikes Peak Library District. They will provide full-text scans within a week, free.
- For electronic access to articles from 1988 to the present, use the Access World News database.
- Paper: current three months (view catalog record)
- Microfilm: from 1878 – present [separate records for the Daily Gazette (1878 – 1887), Colorado Springs Gazette (1878 – 1946), Gazette-Telegraph (1946 – 1997), and Gazette (1997 – present)].
Denver Post
- Full-text back to 1989 in Access World News
- Access to the latest two weeks of articles can be found on the Denver Post website
- Paper: current three months (view catalog record)
- Microfilm: from 1965 – 2012 (view catalog record) Please consult Pikes Peak Library District for access to the fully digitized Denver Post.
Rocky Mountain News
- Full-text online: 1990 - 2009 in Access World News
- Full-text online: 1873-1898 in Nineteenth Century US Newspapers
- Microfilm: April 1859 – November 1905; January 1906 – December 1944; 1947 – 1964 (view catalog record)
Colorado Springs Independent
- Online at the CSIndy website
- The Independent has searchable, full-text online archives
- Paper: Special Collections has paper issues starting with v. 1 (1993 – ) (viewcatalog record)
Colorado Springs Sun Paper
- Paper: from Feb. 1947 – Feb. 26, 1986 (Incomplete) [separate records for the Free Press (Feb. 1947 – Apr. 1967), Colorado Springs Sun (Oct. 21, 1977 – Feb. 26, 1986)]
- Microfilm: from Jan. 1, 1967 – Feb. 28, 1986 [separate records for the Free Press (Jan. 1, 1967 – April 14, 1970), Colorado Springs Sun (Apr. 15, 1970 – Feb. 28, 1986)]