Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
We want to help!
No one is born knowing how to use a library for college research. All of us at Tutt Library are ready to help you with your research whether you are a first year student or a tenured professor.
Research guides for CC courses in Philosophy
Detail of School of Athens by Raphael, 1511.
Get started with the library catalog
Use the CC library catalog to find books, DVDs, and other things in our local collection, as well as links to online resources such as ebooks and streaming video.
If you are used to the old "Tiger" catalog, that was replaced with our new catalog in the summer of 2019. It should work similarly to Tiger, but better! Please ask at the Research Desk or Circulation Desk if you need help.
Getting started in research for philosophy
The two encyclopedias below will provide excellent introductions to topics in philosophy, helping you put philosophers and philosophical topics in context. They also have bibliographies that can help you move on to the next stage of your research.
Get started finding articles
The Philosopher's Index and PhilPapers are our two dedicated philosophy databases. JSTOR covers many academic disciplines, including philosophy. For a full list of databases in philosophy and ideas for effective searching, see the "Find Articles" tab, above.
Coverage: 1940 - current. Provides indexing and abstracts from over 40 countries of books and over 480 journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, language.
Coverage: N/A. Index, bibliography, and open archive of philosophy papers. PhilPapers also offers advanced search functionality, email alerts, and reading lists.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu