Skip to main content

MU221 Cuban Music: Get Started

Study Guide for Cuban Music class

Start your research with OneSearch

OneSearch is Tutt Library's single search across our library catalog and most of our article databases.

 

Search Tips

  • After entering keywords you can use the limiters on the left side of the screen to refine your results by publication year, type of source, language, etc.
  • You can limit to only books, videos, and similar items by selecting "Catalog Only"
  • Records for individual articles will often have links to full text, and to tools that help you cite and save citations.
  • OneSearch is a great place to start research, but you might find that subject-specific databases give additional results or more precise results.

Get started with the Library Catalog

Use the CC library catalog to find books, DVDs, and other things in our local collection, as well as links to online resources such as ebooks and streaming video.

If you are used to the old "Tiger" catalog, that was replaced with our new catalog in the summer of 2019. It should work similarly to Tiger, but better! Please ask at the Research Desk or Circulation Desk if you need help.

Finding Topic Overviews

Encyclopedias and other reference books provide excellent historical overviews that will help you put topics -- and the historians writing about them -- into context. The resources are a great way to

  • Brainstorm ideas
  • Narrow an existing topic
  • Glean keywords for catalog and database searches
  • Leverage bibliographies for the next stage of your research

Grove Music Online is a great place to start. Found in the Oxford Music Online suite, it includes articles on jazz, opera, musical instruments, world music and American music. Check out the article on Cuba!

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (online version here) takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and is complemented by an extensive index.  See volume 2 for information on Cuban music!

 

Take a few minutes to browse the music reference books, located in the Seay Music Library, searching from call numbers ML100 to ML199. You have several books on reserve in the Music Library. 

 

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560