Popular National Newspaper Websites
- New York Times (nyt.com) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
National daily newspaper based in New York City. Colorado College Student Life arranged and funds Academic Pass accounts for CC students, staff, and faculty. Register at https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ and select Colorado College. Use your CC email address to register. - Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new windowInternational daily newspaper based in New York City focused on business and economics. Users must create a WSJ account. This is a one-time process, and then your email and password can be used to login to WSJ.com directly instead of going through the activation URL each time. NOTE: If you are a student, staff member, or faculty member with a personal WSJ subscription and would like to convert it to the Colorado College sponsored WSJ subscription, please call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.
- Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new windowDaily newspaper with national coverage published in Washington, D.C. To activate your account, please visit https://helpcenter.washingtonpost.com/hc/en-us/articles/360057126152-How-do-I-activate-my-Enterprise-group-subscription-
Historical Newspapers
- Black Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper collection provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (From ProQuest)
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Full text of 270 African American Newspapers from 35+ states. Covers topics such as life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment. Based on James P. Danky's bibliography "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals."
- Ethnic American Newspapers 1799-1971130+ digitized newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Covered topics include Japanese internment camps, significant immigration laws, and contributions of immigrants to American society. Emphasis is on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
Digitization Projects
From the Library of Congress. Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers from around the world and in the U.S. (Most are free, some cost).
Newspaper databases with US coverage
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - mostly current. Full text for major U.S., regional U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text transcripts from television and radio news. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1977-mostly current. Access to newspaper articles from around the country. Can limit to a particular state's newspapers. - Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1800's. Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Specific National Newspapers
Atlanta Constitution
- Historical online: Atlanta Constitution Coverage: 1868 – 1929. “The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as ‘the voice of the new south.’ Contains first hand accounts of the Reconstruction period and post-war South” to early twentieth century. Full image and full text newspaper articles.
- Current coverage: Access World News provides text coverage from 1985 – present.
Chicago Tribune
- Historical online: Chicago Tribune Coverage: 1849 – 1985. The Chicago Tribune is one of the nation’s oldest continuously published newspapers. Source for prohibition debates, mercantile development of the midwest, westward expansion, Settlement House Movement – Jane Addams, Al Capone. Full image and full text newspaper articles.
- Current coverage: Nexis Uni provides current text coverage from March 1, 2002 – present.
Los Angeles Times
- Online:
- Current (most recent six months): Nexis Uni
- Historical (1881 – 1985): Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
- Website (current articles available for limited time; CC faculty, students, and staff should use options above for older articles (don’t pay for access on latimes.com!)): https://www.latimes.com/
New York Times
- Online:
- Current (1980 – ): Nexis Uni
- Historical (1851 – three years ago): Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
- New York Times Website : CC Student Life has arranged with the New York Times for free CC accounts (Academic Pass). Register at https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt and select Colorado College. You must use your CC email address to register.
- In Tutt Library (1852 – ):
- Current issues kept until replaced by microfilm. See library catalog for details.
USA Today
- Online:
- Fulltext in Nexis Uni (1989 – ) and Newspaper Source (Nov. 2002 – )
- Website: limited access to free content on USATODAY.com
Wall Street Journal
- Online:
- Fulltext of Eastern Edition The Wall Street Journal (1984 – current)
- Abstracts (summaries) for the Eastern Edition through Nexis Uni
- Very limited free material on WSJ.com
- In Tutt Library (1981 – )
- Current three months of the Western Edition are kept in paper. Microfilm of the Eastern Edition is available for 1981-2020. See catalog record for details.
Washington Post
- Online:
- How do I activate my washingtonpost.com subscription?
- Full Text via Newspaper Source Plus (2003-current)
- In Tutt Library (current 3 months)