Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Journals to search for ethnographies
Tutt Library subscribes to a database of ethnographies from around the world, the electronic version of Human Relations Area Files or HRAF. eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Use eHRAF on or off campus.
Searching TIGER for ethnographies by subject or keyword
Finding ethnographies in the library catalog is not simple. There isn't a specific Library of Congress subject heading just for ethnographies. Instead, ethnographies are catalogued with other books about the same regions or subject matter.
So, you have some options.
- Search our catalog using “ethnography” as either a subject term or a keyword. This will give you lots of results. They won’t all be ethnographies (instead, they may be discussions of methodology or histories of anthropology). And this search will not list all of our ethnographies.
- Search for “social life and customs” or “case studies.” Again, you will get a lot of results this way, but they will not be all of our ethnographies, nor will they all be ethnographies.
- Your best bet is to first pick a social group, region, or subject you want the ethnography to be about. Then go to advanced search, and type your group in one search box and in the second box type “ethnography” or “case studies” or “social life and customs.” This will give you a shorter list of results, and will be easier to scroll through to pick out your most likely options.
- Note: you will want to look at the actual book or item to determine it is an ethnography. A catalog record is not enough to determine that.
Searching for ethnographies by author
Best bets for articles through databases
Start your search for journal articles in these recommended databases.
TIP! You can use the same kind of search strategies in these databases to find ethnographies as in TIGER.
Coverage: 1888 - AnthroSource is an online resource for core journals in the field of anthropology, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). One may access complete archives of all AAA journals and current issues of 11 of the AAA's most popular journals, including American Anthropologist, Cultural Anthropology and American Ethnologist.
Anthropological literature: ANL
Coverage: Late 19th century - current Indexes articles from approximately 900 journals in the fields of anthropology and archaeology.
eHRAF World Cultures
Coverage: varies. HRAF Collection of Ethnography online. The cultural database includes full text of books, chapters, journal articles. Useful for Anthropology, Sociology, Religion, and Women Studies.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1972 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex. Upgraded to full text version in July 2017.
Coverage: 1895 - current. Indexes core sociology journals dating back to 1895. More focused on sociology as a discipline than Sociological Abstracts.
Coverage: 18th century - current. Covers world history (except for the United States and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage).
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University. Offers current and back issues. Please note: we do not subscribe to the Premium Collection. We have access to most, but not all, Project Muse titles.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu