Subject Guide
General Subject Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
With computing impacting so many different subjects, you may want to try a more general database for your research topic
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Main Mathematics Databases
- arXiv MathematicsThe mathematics section in the repository of electronic preprints (e-prints) hosted at Cornell University.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowCoverage: early 1800s - current. Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Originally based on Mathematical Reviews (MR).
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
Electronic Databases with Mathematics Topics
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
- History of science, technology and medicine This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowCoverage: early 1800s - current. Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Originally based on Mathematical Reviews (MR).
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
- SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. A full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,000 books online.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Refworks
RefWorks is a website where you can save the citations to books, articles, and other references you are using in your research. You can then use RefWorks to create bibliographies and even footnotes in the citation style you select. You can use APA, Chicago, MLA, or any of several hundred other styles used by journals, publishers, and other organizations.
RefWorks is a service that the CC library subscribes to, and CC librarians can teach you to use the site or answer your questions.
To use RefWorks, you need to go to the RefWorks website while on the CC campus and click the link to sign up for a free account.
In addition to getting help using RefWorks from CC librarians, you can use the RefWorks Support Resources web page, or try the RefWorks YouTube channel for instructional videos.