Coverage: 1700's-1900's.
Selected manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.

Digitized collections of Native American manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, and other content. Includes many primary sources. Purchase funded by the Hulbert Center for Southwest Studies. Coverage: 1655-1988.

Coverage: 1800-1880.
Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections "Travels in the West and Southwest" and the "Plains & Rockies", this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Documents include books, articles, and diaries. Part of Archives Unbound.

Coverage: 1474 - 1800's.
Full text works by 1,400+ authors in the form of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Americans, and Africans in all areas of North America. Offers advanced searching and browsing of people, events, flora, fauna and more.

Coverage: 1675 - 2002.
150,000+ pages of diaries and letters from over 1,300 women, supplemented with biographies and bibliographies. Browse and search by detailed factors like author, race, occupation, age at first childbirth, year written, and geographical setting. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

FBI files on the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism, 1968-1979

Correspondence received by and sent by the War Department regarding Native Americans, with varied attachments including receipts, financial statements, and copies of speeches. Content includes discussion of treaties, trade, missionaries, "civilization" of Native Americans, and intertribal relations. Primary source. Part of Archives Unbound.

Letters written by Presbyterian missionaries working with Native Americans during 1833-1893

This collection consists of two sets of documents regarding the effects of the Dawes Act of 1887. The Meriam Report was a survey of conditions on Indian Reservations in twenty-six states, and regarded as the most important treatise on Indian affairs since Helen Hunt Jacksons Century of Dishonor in 1881. The Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States was the result of Senate hearings on problems identified by the Meriam Report; it lasted 15 years and produced almost 20,000 pages. Part of Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1928-1943

Coverage: 1784 - 2004.
100,00 pages of letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews and other personal narratives by 2,000+ authors. Some audio recordings are available. Material is organized for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

Coverage: 1719 - 1976.
Growing collection of writings of women from the 18th-20th centuries, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society. Offers advanced browsing and searching, and high-quality scans. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

Coverage: 1558 - 2005.
Cross-searchable collection of databases containing letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs and autobiographies. The focus is on personal narratives written or published in North America. Offers advanced browsing and searching of date, place, author/speaker, interviewer, event, subject and more.

Coverage: 1930 - 2008.
Growing index to 2,700+ collections of oral history in English from around the world; 280,000+ pages by over 9,000 individuals and pointers to thousands of audio/video files. Browse the Table of Contents by repository, interview, date, place, event or subject. Advanced search allows for detailed searching by factors like names, ages, historical events discussed, and more.

Coverage: 1728 - 1900.
Access to archival fulltext newspapers including the Pennsylvania Gazette, African American and Civil War Newspapers, and Godey's Lady's Book.

Coverage: 1639 - 1800.
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1639 to 1800. Not yet complete.

Coverage: 1801 - 1819.
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1801 to 1819. Not yet complete.

Coverage: 1740-1940.
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. May be cross-searched with ProQuest Historical Newspapers.