Use this resource to locate background and specific information on specific types of music (search by the name of the composer if you know it, or by the genre of music). Contains good bibliographies and links to other Internet resources. Provides sources on classical music, ethnomusicology, opera, jazz, and much more…
Use this resource to gather citations to international journal articles, book reviews, etc, with a broad coverage of music topics. It’s especially strong in the music education field.
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many Music titles. Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues). It's best not to limit your search to music journals; you'll find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines. Most articles will be available full text, to be printed.
RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more (see a complete list of document types). Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries, from Albania to Zimbabwe. Articles in many languages with English titles. Not full text, but very comprehensive coverage-articles may be linked to other sources for full text-otherwise you can order through interlibrary loan. Try this!
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive. An archival research resouce containing the essential primary resources for studying the history of the film and entertaingment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music pres titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articels, covers, ads and reviews.
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the names of popular authors.