Repositories
This list is part of the Open Access Directory.
- OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositoriesa database of links to over 1900 institutional and subject repositories worldwide
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons
(launched 2004)
is a media file repository
- making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips)
- common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation
Unlike traditional media repositories, Wikimedia Commons is free. Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as they follow the terms specified by the author; this often means crediting the source and author(s) appropriately and releasing copies/improvements under the same freedom to others.
Disciplinary repositoires
Some select repositories:
Disciplinary Repositories listed on the Open Access Directory
OA in individual disciplines (from Informationsplattform Open Access, swtich to English, links to separate pages on 15 fields)
- Aquatic Commons
Covering marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments; iincludes the science, technology, management, conservation, economic, sociological and legal aspects.
- arXiv.org
Over 500,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- Association of Religion Data Archives
Coverage includes international surveys, U.S. church membership data, and U.S. Surveys. - CESSDA Data Portal
From the Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA). - Cogprints (Cognitive Sciences ePrint Archive)
- Digital Repositories E-Science Network (DReSNeT)
A network of social science repositories for texts and data from the UK Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC). - DataONE - international federation of data repositories containing earth observations data from fields such as ecology, biology, evolution, and environmental sciences such as hydrology, oceanography, and atmospheric science. Participation from hundreds of field stations, universities, and government agencies.
- The Dataverse Network. From Harvard's Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS).
- UK's Economic and Social Science Data Service.
Access to data requires registration. - Freebase. For data in all fields.
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
at the University of Michigan. - PolicyArchive
Includes briefs, reports and multimedia material that represents non-partisan public policy research from the Center for Governmental Studies and Indiana University-Purdue University
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
Over 600,000 items, including many open access working papers and journal articles.
-
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
data from surveys of public opinion from the 1930s to the present.
Foriegn Sites
Canada
- Canadian Institutional Repositories
"Since 2003, the Canadian Association of Research Libraries [CARL] has been promoting the use of institutional repositories in Canada through the CARL Institutional Repositories Program. As a result, over 80% of CARL members have implemented an IR at their institution. "
European Archvie
- digital library of cultural artifacts in digital form for researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
United Kingdom
- UK Government Web Archive provided by The National Archives
- UK Web Archive provided by the British Library
OA in the European Union. From the DRIVER Wiki. Links to separate pages on 27 countries.
OA in Non-EU Europe. From the DRIVER Wiki. Links to separate pages on 7 countries.
OA outside Europe. From the DRIVER Wiki. Links to separate pages on 11 countries.
Worldwide momentum for public access to publicly funded research. From the Alliance for Taxpayer Access. Apparently not updated since 2006.