Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Still image from Stourwater Pictures' The Revolutionary - An American in Mao's Cultural Revolution, available on Kanopy
Classical Music Library
Coverage: Recordings from 1910-current. Growing collection of over 60,000+ tracks, with multiple versions of many major works. Functionality includes playlists and mobile listening. Part of Music Online.
Contemporary World Music
Coverage: N/A. Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Currently including 2,148 albums, equaling 29,521 tracks, it is growing regularly.
Jazz Music Library
Coverage: N/A. Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. This ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 5,041 albums and 60,292 tracks.
On-demand streaming video service. Includes foreign, independent and classic films, documentaries and dramas. Many subject areas are covered.
Kanopy App for iOS and Android
Stream Kanopy to your device while on- or off-campus. The instructions mention needing a "proxy," but I found my account worked at home after I replied to the email they sent me when I set up my account. -Steve Lawson
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Coverage: N/A. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. This growing collection includes over 2,812 albums, equaling 41,082 tracks.
Cover of John Coltrane's classic album, Blue Trane, as found on Jazz Music Library
More Streaming Media
Database of American Recorded American Music: DRAM
Coverage: N/A. Provides streamed audio recordings of over 1,500 CDs (9,800 compositions). Basic collection includes the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records-- from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond. Includes liner notes and essays. Currently available via on-campus access only.
Films on demand
Coverage: pre-1990 to current. Films on Demand subscription to the following categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine. Hundreds of documentaries and educational films viewable as a whole or by segment. Register for an account to build playlists and set preferences. If you have trouble viewing from off campus, please contact the Reference Desk at x6662.
Coverage: N/A. Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. The collections include: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libaries; plus complementary access to Popular Music.
Popular Music Library
Streaming audio tracks and albums of music in the popular genre including rock, rap, indie, and children's music. Subset of Music Online database.
Internet Movie Database
Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
Coverage: 1892 - current. Searchable movie database for international films and TV shows produced in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.
Instruction & Research Librarian
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu