Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


Reference Resources: Encyclopedias



General Encyclopedias Specialized Encyclopedias

General Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online 

“Britannica Online is a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including the Britannica book of the year, and more.”

Contains “nearly 51,000 entries…and more than 80,000 hypertext cross-references….” on a vast array of topics.

Specialized Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 175 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.

Coverage: historical

Offers basic searching of the full-text of nearly 12,000 pages of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the print edition.

Coverage: varies

Features signed, peer-reviewed entries covering cell, molecular, and structural biology, microbiology, genetics, neuroscience, and plant science.

Coverage: varies

Includes hundreds of specialized reference books on a variety of subjects. The contents are all available full text. Covers a wide variety of subject areas in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Coverage: N/A

Comprehensive online reference source for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (Tutt Reference, N31.D5 1996). Now part of Oxford Art Online.

Coverage: N/A

25 million words, hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to musical sites - Grove is an essential companion and tool for scholars of classical, world, and contemporary music and musicians. Other articles, from specialist dictionaries such as The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, are available via a link from the primary article. Grove is included in the Oxford Music Online resource.

Includes information on more than 4,000 species categorized by amphibians, birds, fish, insects, invertebrates, mammals and reptiles, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more. It is updated regularly by a worldwide network of experts, and includes immersive tools like interactive range maps and thousands of photos, videos, audio tracks.

Mythology, folklore and legend from around the world are covered in this searchable online encyclopedia. 300 Subjects include Arthurian legend; Greek, Roman, Asian, African and Native American mythology; Egyptian and Mesopotamian mythology; Folklore; Judaic mythology.

Authoritative, scholarly entries on philosophers and philosophical topics. Also in print in the reference collection, B51.R68 1998.

Hundreds of entries on philosophers and philosophical topics, written and updated by experts in the field.

Coverage: N/A

A guide to the understanding of the broad, multi-faceted and complex topic of pain.

See also:
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: