Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Tutt Library Online Resources
- Create an account with EBL, one of our e-book vendors.
Make sure that you have an account in Tutt Library's circulation system. This is what the authentication system uses to ensure that off-campus database users are members of the college.
Before you leave think about any local library or museum contacts you have. Talk with them to arrange local access to research materials if possible. See more about this on the "Doing Research from Off Campus" tab.
Museum of Food, Lima Peru
Your off-campus classroom environment can enable or prevent a connection to Tutt Library's online resources. What you will need:
- A reliable, stable internet connection. Wireless could be less reliable than cabled connections.
- Enough bandwidth for all of your students to use the internet at once
- No firewall around the local internet connection.
- A class in Peru (right) was not able to access some of our databases, because the local classroom site, an office building, had a firewall around its internet connection. The students' computers could not communicate with the campus computers.
- Start by using the advanced search the Tutt Library Catalog: Search Tiger
- Type in the title, author, or subject of interest.
- Make locating e-books easier by using the limit by location. Scroll to the bottom of the drop down menu and choose "WWW - E-BOOKS.
- When you have selected a book, click on the title to see the full record.
- Click on View Electronic Book
- You may see a login screen or a screen asking you to select your college. For EBL, you have to select Colorado College. Then you login with the account settings you established before you left campus.
Online Research Resources
Tutt librarians have created many guides to aid in research. This is one of them! Try the main research guides page. Faculty, please feel free to ask your liaison librarian to create a guide specific to your course.
Subject Guides will suggest discipline specific reference sources. Otherwise here is a sampling of our general reference encyclopedias,
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes hundreds of specialized reference books on a variety of subjects. The contents are all available full text. Covers a wide variety of subject areas in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 175 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
Coverage: n/a. Springer reference books, frequently updated. Content focuses on science, technology and medicine.
The library provides 24/7 listening and viewing through our streaming audio and video databases.
Coverage: N/A. American Song is an aural history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Currently it includes 4,058 albums, equaling 68,981 tracks; more tracks will be added regularly.
Classical Music Library
Coverage: Recordings from 1910-current. Growing collection of over 60,000+ tracks, with multiple versions of many major works. Functionality includes playlists and mobile listening. Part of Music Online.
Contemporary World Music
Coverage: N/A. Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Currently including 2,148 albums, equaling 29,521 tracks, it is growing regularly.
Database of American Recorded American Music: DRAM
Coverage: N/A. Provides streamed audio recordings of over 1,500 CDs (9,800 compositions). Basic collection includes the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records-- from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond. Includes liner notes and essays. Currently available via on-campus access only.
Films on demand
Coverage: pre-1990 to current. Films on Demand subscription to the following categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine. Hundreds of documentaries and educational films viewable as a whole or by segment. Register for an account to build playlists and set preferences. If you have trouble viewing from off campus, please contact the Reference Desk at x6662.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Coverage: N/A. Citation management system.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Contacting Tutt Research Librarians
Research Desk: 719-389-6662
Find Your Librarian! The research librarians are subject specialists and serve specific academic departments. Find out which librarian you could talk to about your subject of interest. .
Scheduler - Use our online scheduling software to set up a meeting with your librarian. For those off campus, the librarians can use Canvas Conference or Skype to have a face-to-face conversation.
Chat For when your need a real conversation in real time.
Texting For when you have a question with a short and sweet answer. (We will text you the answer.)
Research Guides In depth help on specific topics.
Instruction & Research Librarian
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu