We love to help!
FINDING MUSIC CAN BE CHALLENGING, EVEN IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU’RE LOOKING FOR!
Unlike text, a musical work isn’t about something. Usually, musicians are most interested in the work’s format (score, CD), genre (symphony, jazz ballad), and instrumentation (what forces perform the work). Please ask us for help when you can't find what you need. We have lots of tools to help!
Looking for a composer?
If you want to find works by a composer, do an AUTHOR search in the Tiger catalog. This will bring up anything she has created (scores, recordings, writings, etc).
If you want to find out about a composer, do a SUBJECT search.
For both of these searches, use this order-last name, first name:
Many contemporary composers have websites with sound files and biographical information.
Best Bets for your Assignment
Welcome to the Music History 1 Guide!
Use the tabs above to roam through this guide.
First, find a recording of your piece. Check the Find Recordings/Videos page for searching hints.
Find a score of your piece. For help, see the Find Scores page and the Finding Scholarly Editions of Printed Music box below.
Groves Music Online, found in the Oxford Music Online suite, is an essential companion and tool for scholars of classical, world, and contemporary music and musicians. Coverage includes articles on jazz, opera, musical instruments, and American music.
The following article databases will contain articles useful for your project:
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many music titles. Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues). It's best not to limit your search to music journals; you'll find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.
The Music Index
this database provides excellent searchability. Use this resource to gather citations. There will be links to a few items that are full text. We can always order articles that aren't full text, sometimes within 24 hours
RILM-International Repertory of Music Literature This database covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries.
For more information see the Music Subject Guide
Finding Scholarly Editions of Printed Music
Your paper requires you to find a scholarly edition of the work you choose to discuss. Most of these materials are available in our non-circulating area, within call numbers M1-M3. This section contains collected works of many composers as well as monumental sets and series (works by various composers, eras), These editions are authoritative, scholarly editions of musical works, appropriate for music research. You will not be able to discover individual works contained in each volume by searching in the Tiger catalog.
Here are some tools that will help you find which volume your musical work is in:
Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music: a guide to their contents, by Heyer.
Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music: a bibliography, by Hill
Both of these volumes are placed on your course reserve shelf. Ask a librarian to help you use these!
Index to Printed Music –This is an online version, expanded, of the 2 print sources above. This resource provides over 425,000 index records of individual music works.