Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Librarian Steve Lawson will explore how to find, verify, and manage digital information for research and learning. Visual Resources Curator Meghan Rubenstein will help identify the proper size of digital images for application in print, web, or projection, and discuss "fair use" as it pertains to images. And Instructional Technologist Danna Duncan will uncover passageways leading to safe digital routes and minimize the personal digital footprint.
Streaming Culture and Entertainment
Screencap of Toshiro Mifune in Seven Samurai as viewed in the Kanopy app for iPad.
On-demand streaming video service. Includes foreign, independent and classic films, documentaries and dramas. Many subject areas are covered.
Kanopy App for iOS and Android
Stream Kanopy to your device while on- or off-campus. The instructions mention needing a "proxy," but I found my account worked at home after I replied to the email they sent me when I set up my account.
Classical Music Library
Coverage: Recordings from 1910-current. Growing collection of over 60,000+ tracks, with multiple versions of many major works. Functionality includes playlists and mobile listening. Part of Music Online.
Contemporary World Music
Coverage: N/A. Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Currently including 2,148 albums, equaling 29,521 tracks, it is growing regularly.
Jazz Music Library
Coverage: N/A. Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. This ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 5,041 albums and 60,292 tracks.
Cover of John Coltrane's classic album, Blue Trane, as found on Jazz Music Library
Search the open web
Google Advanced Search
The Google Advanced Search page allows you to greatly customize and narrow your search.
Social Explorer is one of our newer, more unique databases. The site makes it easy for users to create maps showing data from dozens of trusted data sources.
Demographic data visualization and research tool. Includes U.S. census and election data from historical to current.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu