Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Archives and Collections
Most of the links below were suggested by a colleague of Professor Ratchford's.
G. William Jones Film and Video Collection at Southern Methodist University
The Tyler, Texas Black Film Collection comprises 6 short subjects, 9 features, and a set of newsreels, all produced between 1935 and 1956. The African-American films include comedies, dramas, news, and musical performances, and were made outside the Hollywood system by pioneering directors and producers such as Oscar Micheaux, Spencer Williams, and William Alexander.
Digitized collection of film posters documenting the history of the Black film industry.
American film scripts
Coverage: 1903 - current. American Film Scripts Online contains over 1000 scripts, together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Many of the scripts have never been published before, and some scripts were never produced.
Due to either copyright restrictions or archives' lack of means to digitize material, many archives – such as the ones below – have extensive film collections that are not available to watch online.
Black Drama, 1850 to Present
Coverage: 1846 - current. Contains the full text of over 1,400 rare and hard-to-find plays written from the 1850's to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. Search by author, title, subject, date, full-text, etc. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
, Film and Media
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu