This is the "Home" page of the "EN 399, Junior Seminar: Chaucer and His Circle" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EN 399, Junior Seminar: Chaucer and His Circle   Tags: block 4  

Last Updated: Nov 26, 2013 URL: http://coloradocollege.libguides.com/en399-chaucer Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cited Reference Searching

You can use a work's bibliography to "go back in time" and find citations to earlier works that may be relevant to your research.

You can also use tools like Google Scholar to "go forwards in time" and find later works that have cited a given publication.

In Google Scholar, look for where it says "Cited by" under the original citation. In JSTOR, look in the right hand column, first where it says "X items citing this item" in the JSTOR database. Below that, you will find a link to take you to Google Scholar's cited reference search for that article.

This kind of cited reference search is rarely complete or exact; there are a lot of variations in ways that people cite a given work, and the fact that Google says "Cited by X" can be read as "cited by at least X" other sources.

Middle English Dictionary

  • Middle English Dictionary
    This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED (available in Tutt Library ), but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.

Johns Hopkins Dictionary of Literary Theory

 

Find Books

TIGER, the CC Library Catalog

TIGER will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.

The Prospector Catalog will help you find books and other items in other Colorado libraries which you can request and have sent to Tutt Library for you to use.

WorldCat can help you find books in libraries almost anywhere and request them via interlibrary loan.

Please ask a librarian if you need help with TIGER, Prospector, or WorldCat.

Find Articles and More

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
  • JSTOR
    Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
  • Google Scholar
    Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.

Humanities Librarian

Profile Image
Steve Lawson
Logo - AIMLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
You are most likely to get in touch with me using the "Send Email" link below. You can also call 719-389-6857 or visit my office in the Learning Commons.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip