This is the "Home" page of the "EN 203 Ars Amatoria. Hayward, Block 1" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EN 203 Ars Amatoria. Hayward, Block 1   Tags: block 1  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2012 URL: http://coloradocollege.libguides.com/en203-b1 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Strategies

You can't always use the same search strategies with different catalogs and databases.

A library catalog like Tiger typically just contains titles, authors, and subject headings.

For catalogs:

  • think broad subject terms for keywords or subject searches
  • find one good books and then browse the shelves when possible
Library databases demand different kinds of strategies depending on what they index.
Most databases only include limited information about the article: title, author, journal or book/collection title, subject headings or keywords, and – if you are lucky – an abstract (summary).
  • try combining the title of a literary work and a keyword relating to a theme or subject
  • add keywords to get fewer results
  • remove keywords (perhaps just use the title of the work?) or try a broader keyword (the author rather than the title of the work?)
For full-text databases, most notably JSTOR, you will have more success if you use more keywords, since you are searching the full text of the articles.
 

Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College

Search Tiger by 

Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.

Databases for finding articles and more

Tiger won't help you find articles in journals and is hit-or-miss for chapters in books. For that you'll need databases.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Our main database for literature. Comprehensive and sometimes quirky, researchers in English need to learn to love it.
  • JSTOR
    Full-text articles from academic journals for all subjects. Great in that it has the full text and allows full-text searching, but can be like drinking from the firehose.
  • Shakespearean criticism
    A wealth of criticism in full-text, but can be clunky to use.
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography
    Comprehensive in Shakespeare studies, the World Shakespeare Bibliography contains citations (rather than full text).

Humanities Librarian

Profile Image
Steve Lawson
Logo - AIMLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
You are most likely to get in touch with me using the "Send Email" link below. You can also call 719-389-6857 or visit my office in the Learning Commons.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip