- Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
- Access to archival databases (AAD) system
Coverage: N/A. "The Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System gives you online access to electronic records that are highly structured, such as in databases. The initial release of AAD contains material from more than 30 archival series of electronic records, which include over 350 data files totaling well over 50 million unique records. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates ..."
- Accessible Archives
Coverage: 1728 - 1900. Access to archival fulltext newspapers including the Pennsylvania Gazette, African American and Civil War Newspapers, and Godey's Lady's Book
- Access World News: Research Collection
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
- ACCRA Cost of Living Index Online
Online calculator and data set for the ACCRA Cost of Living Index. Contact the Reference Desk for details.
- ACS Journals Archive
Coverage: varies. Full text articles from 30 American Chemical Society magazines and peer-reviewed journals back to Volume 1 of each journal. Comprehensive coverage of chemistry and related sciences.
- ACS Web Editions
Full-text journals published by the American Chemical Society.
- Afghanistan and the U.S. 1945-1963 (Archives Unbound-Gale)
Coverage: 1945-1963 This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats, including special reports, studies, statistics, legal documents, letters, translations of reports and articles from foreign newspapers and journals, speeches and transcripts. A wide range of subjects are covered including the politics, economics, and culture of Afghanistan. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Africa Knowledge Project
Journals and databases from the Africa Resource Center focusing on Africa and the African Diaspora. Content includes JENdA: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies, Journal on African Philosophy, and the African Music Database.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full text of 270 African American Newspapers from 35+ states. Covers topics such as life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment. Based on James P. Danky's bibliography "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals."
- African Women Bibliographic Database
Coverage: 1986 - current. Indexes English language materials: books and government documents; articles in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; videocassettes. Some full text.
Coverage: 1982 - current. This resource covers 'all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.'
- Alternative Press Index
Coverage: 1969 - current. Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
- America, History and Life
1910- current. Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Civil War
Coverage: 1848 - 1897. 100,000+ pages of diaries, letters and memoirs by 2000+ authors. Includes many previously unpublished manuscripts. Organized for detailed browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
- American FactFinder
Coverage: N/A. Gateway to census data for population, housing, economics, business, and government; in data, tables, maps and reports.
- American film scripts
Coverage: 1903 - current. American Film Scripts Online contains over 1000 scripts, together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Many of the scripts have never been published before, and some scripts were never produced.
- American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries’ Letters, 1833-1893
Almost 14,000 letters written by Presbyterian missionaries working with Native Americans during 1833-1893. Content includes missionary attitudes toward Native Americans, sex roles, religion, and the government. Primary source. Part of Archives Unbound.
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Coverage: 1968-1979. Collection of FBI files providing detailed information on the evolution of AIM (American Indian Movement) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Part of Archives Unbound.
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Coverage: historical. Digitized collections from the Library of Congress. Oral histories, letters, photographs, documents. Search by keyword.
- American Periodicals Series Online
Coverage: 1740-1940. Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. May be cross-searched with ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- American Song
Coverage: N/A. American Song is an aural history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Currently it includes 4,058 albums, equaling 68,981 tracks; more tracks will be added regularly.
- American West
Coverage: 1700's-1900's. Selected manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
- Annual Reviews
Coverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
- Anthropological index online: anthropological index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library)
Coverage: 1970 - current. An index to Anthropology journals held by the Museum of Mankind Library.
- Anthropological literature: ANL
Coverage: Late 19th century - current Indexes articles from approximately 900 journals in the fields of anthropology and archaeology.
Coverage: 1888 - AnthroSource is an online resource for core journals in the field of anthropology, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). One may access complete archives of all AAA journals and current issues of 11 of the AAA's most popular journals, including American Anthropologist, Cultural Anthropology and American Ethnologist.
- AP Images
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press. Photos range from up-to-the-minute to historical.
- AP Stylebook Online
The Associated Press Stylebook, also known as the journalist's Bible, now online. Search or browse by chapter for everything from spelling and punctuation to media law and journalistic guidelines. Also includes a pronunciation guide. Please note: our subscription is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Art & Architecture Complete
Coverage: 1980 - current. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images.
- Art Index Retrospective
Coverage: 1929 - 1984. Indexes hundreds of international art journals. See Art & Architecture Complete for more recent articles.
- ARTFL project, University of Chicago
Coverage: Medieval to 20th Century. Consists of nearly 2000 French texts. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of 17th century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus.
- Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
Full-text reports from research institutions covering 50+ countries in the Asian-Pacific region. Topics include business, government, economics, social issues, and the humanities.
- Asian American Drama
Coverage: 1891 - current. 250+ plays (some never before published) by 40+ authors together with detailed, indexed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
Coverage: 1949 - current. Contains more than a million citations from more than a thousand international titles and multi-author works in Religion. Spans over 50 years with selected records going back to 1818. Some full text.
- Atlanta Constitution (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1868 - 1945. 'The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as 'the voice of the new south.' Contains first hand accounts of the Reconstruction period and post-war South' to early twentieth century. Full image and full text newspaper articles. (Lexis-Nexis provides text coverage from 1991-present.)
- Auto Repair Reference Center
ARRC contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content in ARRC has been created by ASE certified technicians.