Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find These Reference Resources @ Tutt Library
Multidisciplinary Databases @ Tutt Library
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Communication & mass media complete
Coverage: Early 20th century - current. Covers all areas of communication and mass media. Includes full text for over 200 titles and citations to research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. Some journals are indexed back as far as the early decades of the 20th century.
Film & television literature index
Coverage: 1980s - current. Indexes journals covering all areas of film and television, from reviews to film & TV theory to more technical aspects.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
Welcome to Critical Media Studies
Use the tabs above to search for books, electronic resources and other information. There are also links to other research guides in the "Related Guides" box to the right on this page. If you have questions, contact the Research Help Desk in Tutt Library.
Reference books provide overviews that will help you put topics into context. The resources are a great way to
- Brainstorm ideas
- Narrow an existing topic
- Glean keywords for catalog and database searches
- Leverage bibliographies for the next stage of your research
You can find plenty of reference resources on the first floor of Tutt Library. Find electronic resources in the library catalogue.
Media in the 21st Century
5 Minutes Of What The Media Actually Does To Women
from Still Killing Us Softly 4, with Jeanne Kilbourne narrating...
TED X on Media Literacy
Andrea Quijada is the executive director of Media Literacy Project. With more than a decade of experience as a media literacy trainer, and 20 years as a community organizer, she has a deep passion for media justice. Quijada presents nationally and internationally on the impact of media on culture, politics, and technology. She has co-founded various organizations in Albuquerque, including Young Women United, a reproductive justice organization by and for young women of color.
Recommended BLOGS & Websites
Antenna [Blog] Responses to Media and Culture
A collectively authored media and cultural studies blog committed to timely yet careful analysis of texts, news, and events from across the popular culture spectrum. The site regularly responds to new works and developments in television, film, music, gaming, digital video, the Internet, print, and the media industries.
Center for Media Literacy (CML)
Dedicated to promoting and supporting media literacy education as a framework for accessing, analyzing, evaluating, creating and participating with media content
Critical Media Project : Useful Links
from the Annenberg Foundation, this site contains a wide range of media artifacts that explore the politics of identity across issues of race and ethnicity, class, gender and sexuality
Media Awareness Network
Canadian nonprofit group website with media and digital literacy resources.
Media Education Foundation
Produces and distributes documentary films as well as other resources for educational purposes. Mission is to "inspire critical reflection on the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media."
Teen Health and the Media
Fast facts on the media's effect on body Image among teenagers.
Follow the links below to explore related subject or course guides
Online Reference Resources @ Tutt
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu